Help our busy, artistic family at home in Clashmore, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have a small business and three children. We often get very busy and we would love help in any area of our home that you think would suit you. Cooking can often suffer from lack of time, the garden could do with some love (compost and vegetable patch), chopping wood, incessant tidying up, and there are small building projects if you're interested.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We'd love you to learn as much as you like. To take any opportunity that you find. The area is rural, very beautiful and certainly away from the bright lights and smog of cities. There are walks in both forests and along coastlines. Atmospheric pubs, local people who love a chat and to hear about far away places. Judging from past experiences our home is well suited to people who may also have artistic pursuits and would like time to develop their practice.

  • Help

    Help

    We're a busy family of four (me and three children 15, 13, and 11). I have a small business and the children all have clubs and lots of friends. Often we get so busy and we would love help with cooking, gardening and there are also small building projects if you are interested (there is a small shed without a roof). We live in an old Irish cottage with a yard, out buildings and a beautiful view across the Blackwater and Knockmealdown mountains. In one of the outbuildings I have an art gallery (quite makeshift) from which I sell Irish art and craft.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double room with bathroom. It's actually quite a unique space with a large triangular window and views of fields, cows, dogs, chickens, mountains and a little patch of the Blackwater river.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is local transport by way of a bus that leaves from our nearest village (7 minute cycle there but 20 minutes back as uphill). It only operates Thrusday and Saturday. Failing that there are buses to Cork and Dublin from our nearest town (10 minutes drive away). Many beautiful beaches, mountain walks, and pubs nearby. There is cookery school near by, Ballymaloe that frequently gives talks and has the odd the short course. An opera festival at the end of May.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 234279722964