Help us renovate our Georgian home in the Highlands, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 224 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    231

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of six living in a picturesque Highlands village in Scotland with our three cats and two Setters, Hugo & Roux. The house is a large six bedroomed Georgian place with a wealth of character and a countryside style well established garden. Volunteers will have their own bedroom and are welcome to join us for meals as a family. The area we live in has so many attractions for visitors, from beautiful beaches and historic castles to an award winning ice cream parlour and a world famous Salmon river. There is something for everyone here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we grew up locally and have both lived in this area for the majority of our lives we know a great deal about its history and the best places to visit during your stay.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we are working on the playroom, a portion of the hallway and one of the bedrooms. The work to be done largely consists of stripping/sanding woodwork, plastering and painting. We have some issues with the exterior of the building so we would be over the moon to hear from anyone who is a qualified builder or stonemason who has time to spare next summer; anyone who could remove the cement render from the exterior of the building and repair the stonework would be welcome for a long stay. As the house is so old there are numerous little general maintenance type jobs that need to be done. For example: fixing sash windows, putting up shelves, repainting exterior paintwork, fixing doors, stripping wallpaper etc. We would expect a volunteer to put in 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Light and spacious guest room with a double bed. Shared use of a bathroom, kitchen, living room and garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We highly recommend visiting the walled garden at Gordon Castle while you are here and the beaches at Lossiemouth. Moray is Whisky country and there are well over thirty distilleries here, which can be toured. We are happy to provide transport to you on my partners days off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Village square on the street where we live.
French Toast.
Shamelessly bribing you with my cooking. Crepes stuffed with sweet whipped mascarpone.
New range cooker.
Autumn decorating
Master bedroom
Living room
The rear of the house.




Host ref number: 233751958837