At the edge of a small lake and in the middle of a forest, a small farm needs your help. Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    After 3 years of cycling on the roads and trails of our beautiful blue planet, we put our panniers in the Jämtland forest in Sweden. Here, we retapons a farm in order to open a guest house offering thematic stays where ecotourism and permaculture are the foundations of our project. At the edge of a small lake and in the middle of a forest stretching from Norway to the Bothnian Sea, our 13-hectare estate lives to the rhythm of an omnipresent Nature where elk, brown bear, wolverines and cocks of heather. Leaving the thirties, we worked for many years in medico-social before putting the bike trip at the center of our lives. Above all, we like simplicity, sharing, optimism and thinking that anything is possible.

    A la suite de 3 années de voyage à vélo par les routes et les sentiers de notre belle planète bleue, nous avons posé nos sacoches dans la forêt du Jämtland en Suède. Là, nous retapons une ferme dans le but d'y ouvrir une maison d'hôtes proposant des séjours thématiques où écotourisme et permaculture sont les fondements de notre projet. Au bord d'un petit lac et au milieu d'une forêt s'étendant de la Norvège à la mer de Botnie, notre domaine de 13 hectares vit au rythme d'une Nature omniprésente où s'ébattent entre autres élans, ours brun, gloutons et coqs de bruyère. Quittant la trentaine, nous avons travaillé bien des années dans le médico-social avant de mettre le voyage à vélo au centre de nos vies. Nous aimons par dessus tout la simplicité, le partage, l'optimisme et penser que tout est possible.

    ------------------------------------------
    Opening dates for this year

    August 26 -31
    September 1-6 and 15-30
    October 1-31

    We can not take people outside of these dates, sorry.
    --------------------------------------------

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The need to share really lives in us. The desire to discover our way of life and learn from volunteers are the reasons that led us to register. Gastronomy, construction, gardening, travel experiences, local culture and beyond are just some of the topics we love to share, during work or by the fireside.

    Le besoin de partager nous habite réellement. L'envie de faire découvrir notre mode de vie et d'apprendre des bénévoles sont les raisons qui nous ont amenés à nous inscrire. Gastronomie, construction, jardinage, expériences de voyage, culture locale et d'ailleurs sont quelques-uns des sujets sur lesquels nous aimons partager, durant le travail ou au coin du feu.

  • Help

    Help

    It remains to be done ... But two main tasks currently occupy our days: the renovation of the farm (carpentry, painting, sanitary ...) and the start of a vegetable garden following the principles of permaculture. Beside this, we also prepare our firewood and feed our pantry through the picking of berries and mushrooms as well as fishing. Small side projects also punctuate our program such as the manufacture of a hen house, the development of a fence to prevent our salads end up in the belly of a momentum ... The sharing of knowledge and the contribution of new ideas are two reasons that led us to sign up for Workaway.

    Il reste tout à faire... Mais deux tâches principales occupent actuellement nos journées : la rénovation de la ferme (menuiserie, peinture, sanitaire...) et le démarrage d'un potager suivant les principes de la permaculture. A côté de cela, nous préparons également notre bois de chauffage et alimentons notre garde manger grâce à la cueillette de baies et de champignons ainsi qu'à la pêche. De petits projets annexes ponctuent également notre programme telles que la fabrication d'un poulailler, l'élaboration d'une clôture pour éviter que nos salades finissent dans le ventre d'un élan... Le partage de connaissances et l'apport d'idées nouvelles sont deux raisons qui nous ont amenés à nous inscrire sur Workaway.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Français, anglais

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our farm has several rooms, a stuga (holiday cottage) and a sauna ;-) You will be warm and dry and our whole house is open to you. Our canoe, snowshoes ... can also be made available. For meals, we suggest you share them with us and if the desire to cook takes you, it's not us who will hold you back! We do not have a special diet, but we advocate a healthy and balanced diet. Particular diets (allergy or philosophy) do not pose us any problem and respect them to the extent of our possibilities.

    Notre ferme comprend plusieurs chambres, ainsi qu'une stuga (maisonnette de vacances) et un sauna ;-) Vous serez donc logé au chaud et au sec et toute notre maison vous est ouverte. Notre canoë, raquettes à neige... peuvent également être mis à disposition. Pour les repas, nous vous proposons de les partager avec nous et si l'envie de cuisiner vous prend, ce n'est pas nous qui allons vous retenir ! Nous n'avons pas de régime particulier, mais prônons une alimentation saine et équilibrée. Les régimes particuliers (allergie ou philosophie) ne nous posent aucun problème et les respectons dans la mesure de nos possibilités.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The meeting was at the heart of our travels. We draw strength and renewal from it. Not experienced as workaway hosts, we know (through our professional experience) adapt the work to the skills of the person doing it. It is therefore the quiet spirit that we must join, with a good dose of desire to get involved. In the middle of an endless Nature, the night owls will undoubtedly find the place not appropriate to the party. Living 30 km from the nearest town (Strömsund), we are happy to come and pick you up as there is no public transport.

    La rencontre a été au coeur de nos voyages. Nous y puisons forces et renouveau. Peu expérimentés en tant qu'hôtes sur workaway, nous savons (par notre expérience professionnelle) adapter le travail aux compétences de celui qui l'effectue. C'est donc l'esprit tranquille qu'il faut nous rejoindre, avec une bonne dose d'envie de s'impliquer. Au milieu d'une Nature sans fin, les noctambules trouverons sans nul doute l'endroit peu approprié à la fête. Vivant à 30 km de la ville la plus proche (Strömsund), nous nous mettons volontiers à votre disposition pour venir vous y chercher car il n'y a pas de transport public.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 231179389277