Help to teach performing arts, do workshops and performances in Juayúa, El Salvador

Country

El Salvador

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My Name is Rodrigo Valle, I'm 24 years old and im a dancer, circus performer and a social activist. As an artist I love to travel and I realize that the best way to bond with the locals is through arts. I was volunteering in Nicaragua teaching circus and performing arts to children in a vulnerable condition. Now that I´m back, I decided to add the social area to our project.
    We really enjoy having guest´s cause its a great way to know people and to know different cultures and traditions. We are always inviting people to come over to our project and it's a space created for cultural exchange. Receiving guests from different countries and doing workshops with people from the community and the girls from a performing arts school in Sonsonate.

    In exchange of that we offer food, accommodation and the posibilitty to perform in different spaces. Also, we are located in a beautifull town in the mountains of El Salvador, so is great for nature lovers and people who wants to spend some relaxing time in a fun, safe and fresh enviroment.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Animal care
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You´ll be spending some quality time helping our community, creating bonds with the locals and havng fun in a safe and free enviroment located in the mountains of El Salvador, you´ll see the salvadorean life and discover our history and traditions.

    P.D: If you´re an artist, we support a new artistic proposal, a group of artists, from different areas, that comes together and perform as a group just for one moment and through them you´ll have spaces to do your thing and being avalaible to make a little money.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who can help with one of these two groups (or both):

    -Escuela de Ballet y Circo: teaching performing arts (dance, juggling, acro, etc) to a group of 20 girls, ages between 8 and 15 years.
    *Help here its only on saturdays morning and a payment can be arranged for this.

    -Community: doing free performances and workshops with the kids (recicling, performing arts, games, etc) and with adult men and women (natural medicine, gardening, performing arts, gender equality)
    These performances and workshops are guest´s proposals, you choose the date and the audience you wanna work with. This help is for true volunteers, people willing to make a change.

    and also, you can help us with our home garden and home improvement

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english and spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    the first thing you need to know is that You´ll be sharing house with us (me and my mom)
    We have a guest´s room that you can have for yourself or share with someone (if you are traveling in a group). Also, if you want you can hang your hammock somewhere, put your tend or throw your sleeping bag somewhere.
    There are no rules in our house, but dont mess with our pets or books.
    We are gonna be sharing house so, food´s on us. But you can buy and have your own things to eat and cook anytime you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Juayúa, is quiet little town located in the mountains between Sonsonate and Ahuachapan.
    Is famous for being part of "Ruta de Las Flores" (flowers Route) and for hosting the food festival every weekend.
    It´s a perfect place for nature lovers, really nearby you can find waterfalls, volcanos, coffee plantations and even a few beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hrs

Host ref number: 228795428865