Help our family on our farm and around the house near Adelaide, South Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/04/2019

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are needing some help ASAP with spring cleaning
    We live on a big farm at Langhorne creek. We are one big family living in two very big houses just down the road from each other. Mum and Dad and our adult brother and sister live in one and myself, my sister, husband and 4 children (10, 12,15,16) live in the other. We have both been hosting through other volunteering sites for 3 years and have found sharing our homes, workload and culture to be a rewarding and satisfying experience.

    We are about an hour from Adelaide and we are often taking trips into town and the city. There are buses from Strathalbyn if you wish to go to the city for the day as well but we are often on outings.
    This farm has been in our family for 150 years so there are many odd jobs around the farm, the houses, gardens etc. generally the usual stuff, helping with the day to day housework and family life and maybe some farm if you are competent.

    No we don't sign second year visas, you need to do a full day's farm work to qualify and this is only a few hours a day, many have got in trouble for trying to cheat the system.
    We are open to having families with children stay with us as well.

    Don't hesitate to message us, we usually always have room as our houses are very big and there is room to share!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are a lot of people on our farm so we are always doing a lot of different things and like to include our volunteers in our day to day life.
    Mum used to be an English teacher so if you need help with English she can help. We also cook A LOT! If you have skills cooking they would be greatly appreciated and also we can help teach you good skills.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    It's the usually home stay help mostly.
    Housework: dishes, floors, organising, washing clothes etc
    Gardening
    Maybe some farm work during the busy period.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom in the hosts house

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 227357961369