Join a nature loving family & be an inspiring older brother or sister to 2 children living in West Sussex, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    We're a family of 3, and 2 dogs!

    I’m Laura, a writer and work from home.

    My two children are Eve (8) and Jack (3), and our two dogs Aslan and Tara!

    We live in a pink house in West Sussex, and have a beautiful, Secret Garden style garden that circles around the house, with its own small rewilding area, a green house, veggie patch and lots of space to run around. and near by walks across national park land and the South Downs.


    We are getting ready for. A house move and are looking for an extra pair of hands to help pack up and unpack the house on the other side. But most of all, be a fun older brother and sister to the kids whilst all the moving stuff is happening.

    There are quite a few transitions happening at the moment. Both kids have started new schools, we’re getting ready to move to a new home (only 30mins away) and there is also the impact and loss of normality like touch and hugs with their friends in light of all coronavirus concern.

    To support us through this next transition, I'd love to offer space in our home to an inspiring young person to be a part of our family for a month or so until we’re settled in our new home. (From now until early/mid November).

    If you are someone who has a genuine love of nature, and loves hanging out with children and getting out into the local woods and going on adventures, we would love to meet you!

    The role will be helping out with the children making fun things like dens in the garden, arts and crafts, football! Reading, Taking the dogs for walks, Wild river swimming & helping out cooking lunch and supper.

    You will be staying in a cottage just twenty metres across from our house in the garden, so you have your own space to chill and relax on weekends and in free time. It has its own bathroom, double bed, kitchen and sitting room area.

    We are a family who love the being and freedom that happens when we’re outside. So would love someone who has grown up with an open mind and love of nature and has a hands on approach to life.

    As a mother my biggest wish is my children grow with a relationship to nature. We spend a lot of our time outside. We have move healthy vibrant eating. We eat delicious food which is organic, grass fed, local. both children are celiac so we’re a gluten free household. We’re a creative house hold and the children are very happy creating, as they are playing in the garden.

    If you think we could be the right family for you, pls do get in touch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With the virus I don’t know how much travel will be allowed outside. There is a Buddhist Monestary a 15 min walk away there are the South Downs woods and walks. What we can offer are warm hearts and also Shared knowledge and experience in the environmental world. I’m a long term mediator, life time yogi and yoga instructor and a writer so I can also offer guidance in any of those areas! Also offering a place where you can share your knowledge with my family. To support a younger generation in these uncertain times and to create some magic and see your skills being appreciated and enjoyed.

  • Help

    Help

    Taking the children to the woods. Creative games in and outside the garden. Building dens. Treasure hunts. Walking dogs. Wild swimming in the river. Reading wkth the children, helping prepare supper.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own cottage. Double room. All meals. shared. can help yourself to food on weekends. But we have mornings up to 1pm as family time and after 530pm on weekends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    nearby town is Petersfield which has a 65 min train to London - Waterloo and Clapham junction.

    Brighton is a 60 min drive away.

    Amazing walks and nature around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 224538254339