Come and help on our small homestead near the gorgeous Waipio Valley on Hawaii, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 241 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single woman with a small fruit farm. We are very close to the gorgeous Waipio Valley on the big island of Hawaii.
    I am a mother of five and all the kids are grown and living on the mainland. Though this little farm is less than 2 acres it is too much for me to maintain as I work full time.

    My search is for Workawayer September October and November or part of that for a month or two at a time, to help with harvesting macadamia nuts, processing fruit, weeding and pruning and simple in house chores. The food we supply is generally basic and yes we do try to accommodate some reasonable dietary needs.

    Our harvests are small therefore consumption is for our personal use including our workaway guests! So expect to eat anything in season.
    I am looking for a fit individual. This does require a bit of strength for the outside work. Any yard work experience such as weedwhacking is a plus.
    You would have a private room.
    I ask for 20 hours a week of farm/house help and am very flexible on days. I need a self starter, motivated, and organized person who, of course, is drug free and does not smoke.

    The house is an historic dance hall converted to a private residence that was built in the 20's.
    It has a lot of character and has been restored so it is in great condition.
    I do have a cat so if you are allergic you have to consider that.
    I have a bike for you to ride either to the valley in one direction or the cute small town of Honokaa in the other direction. I am a cheery sort and I take very good care of my farm helpers.
    I work two jobs and paddle outrigger canoe.
    I will help you get around when possible but hope you can take advantage of our very inexpensive bus system, as well. I have a small pick up truck for short stints that I can offer on some days only.
    I am certainly available should you need to talk to me.
    Aloha,
    Diana

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a Hawaiian immersion of sorts as we live in a very local and diverse part if the island away from the resorts. The hikes and beaches are some of the most beautiful experiences. I also prepare many interesting things from local sources as I am a retired caterer.

  • Help

    Help

    weeding / pruning
    fruit harvesting
    some minimal house upkeep

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A small room with internet. I provide all linens, towels, etc.
    Food included within reason. Basic pantry items, fresh fruit and veges. And protein, of course. Vegan diets are okay..i expect you to prepare your own meals, though I do cook on my days off.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have many things to do and see.
    The big island is one of the most diverse places on the planet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 222918471362