Help housekeep and/or drive our kids to school in beautiful Gloucestershire countryside

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 485 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    About Us:

    We're a warm, welcoming family and have been hosting workawayers for almost five years and we LOVE the cosmopolitan atmosphere and friendly energy that workawayers bring to our household.

    You can check out our feedback below - we've made some really lovely connections over the years.

    We enjoy good conversation, we're a creative, forward thinking household. I have two boys aged 7 and 11 who have been partly homeschooled, partly steiner educated and are now at local schools in Frome.

    We eat wholesome food, lots of veggies and some meat. We can accommodate most diets, especially if you're willing to help with the cooking - we've hosted celiac and vegan workawayers already without any problems. Most people have really enjoyed our food!

    Our house is a big Victorian Terrace with spacious airy rooms. I'm a single mum and I share the house with another mum who has a toddler, you'll be helping me primarily as well as doing a bit of babysitting for Tam.

    Frome is a small, incredibly friendly, vibrant town set in stunning countryside. River swimming, ancient hill forts, and beautiful walks are all within fifteen minutes drive; the cities of Bath (beautiful architecture) and Bristol (great nightlife, galleries and museums) are under an hour away by train. Stunning beaches are two hour's drive away in several directions. London is 2 hours by train.

    We also have two friendly cats.

    We always take the first week or so on a trial basis, during which either of us can say "this isn't for me" : as Workaway advise, you should always have a back up plan in case we don't quite fit (it's just good sense).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a fairly holistic, conscious way. We cook all our meals from scratch every day and I like to cook food from around the world.

    We try to parent using Hand in Hand parenting , I am planning to work as an assistant instructor occasionally, and you will have a chance to learn about this when you stay with us. The cliff notes are: loving limits are ok, feelings are ok, connection comes first.

    We are a creative family, and I run a creative marketing and coaching business. We have tons of interesting books and I'm always happy to discuss ideas! We are happy to help improve your English and discuss the meaning of words, points of grammar etc.

    Workawayers who have enjoyed us most have simply found the energy to be quite nurturing and loving and have felt very at home.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for a confident person with experience of looking after kids and running a house.

    You'll be helping in the evenings after school and around supper time and we'll give you chores to do in the daytime at your own pace.

    You'll help tidy up the kitchen after supper (we have a dishwasher) and straitening it out after the breakfast rush.

    There will usually be a bit of laundry hang out/fold during the day, and you'll be hoovering/cleaning the bathroom/watering plants/tidying up the living areas on a weekly basis.

    You'll be looking after the children after school, giving them supper and putting them to bed once a fortnight, when I travel up to London for a course. There may be the occasional babysitting outside of this.

    We ask for no more than five hours a day, including helping with supper/clean up and you can manage your own time outside of school runs/childcare times. There may be some fluctuation in your daily hours, though this will always even out over the week and we ask you to keep track of your time.

    You'll be free to manage your time outside of school run/supper, including your household chores.

    You will not be expected to work at all at the weekends.

    We ask for two things from our workawayers:

    1. You need to have good conversational English
    2. You need experience of travelling and being away from home by yourself.

    Experience has shown that both these things are crucial for a successful workaway in our house! We offer a very warm welcome but I'm

    We welcome applications from first time workawayers, as long as you meet the criteria above. We'll always ask to skype beforehand and this usually gives us a good indication of whether we'll be a good fit.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own private room.

    You'll have access to WiFi, washing machine etc etc.

    You'll share all our meals, though lunchtime and breakfast is "self service" - you are welcome to help yourself to what is in the house, usually eggs, cheese, salad and what is left over from supper.

    You'll have space for your own special snacks if you need them - but we're fairly boring about sweets etc so ask you to be discrete if you have a passion for "junky" food so the kids don't get frustrated/hound you for a share!

    We have two sweet cats who are always up for cuddles!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Gloucester has a delightful medieval city centre, a lovely cathedral and some interesting medieaval architecture and a large country park 10 minutes walk away. Cheltenham and Stroud are twenty minutes away and there is lots going on culturally, dance, yoga etc lots of cafes and interesting shops.

    The Forest of Dean is about half an hour away by bus with hours of walking, cycling etc - it is extremely beautiful. You can also access easily by train Cardiff with its international concert hall and Bristol for all things alternative and multicultural, along with Bath with fantastic Georgian architecture, Roman Baths and beautiful river and skyline walks, and SHOPS!

    Bath and Bristol are an easy hop by train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours over the week max.

This beach is two hours drive from the house.
Our old living room in the middle of a play session - they made flags!
Alice Tony and Rowan (our older boy)

















Host ref number: 215838328283