Bring your sense of humour & ability to mix into our family to Bathurst NSW, help needed with our energetic boys

Country

Australia

Favourited 142 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/06/2017

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *** 10 week commitment preferred - however this is one week on/one week off - so you are only working every second week - the other week you can travel if you wish ***

    Busy recently separated parents and their two active and sporty boys are seeking interactive Workaways with a sense of humour and a passion for silliness to join our family for a little while.

    Sam (dad) has the two boys every second week in the families four bedroom home and needs an extra pair of hands for before school care each day. Our boys (7 & almost 11) are sports mad, loud, busy and energetic. We live in Bathurst city which is 250km north west of Sydney plus we have our separate 100 acre cattle farm 20 minutes away, which we are preparing to sell in the next 3-6months.

    To be a part of our household you must have a sense of humour, not take life too seriously, be ready to dive into the chaos and enjoy a BBQ and a beer/glass of wine with us and our friends. If you are going to clock watch your time or lock yourself away, we may not be the best choice of family for your workaway as we love a good chat, watch a movie and generally just get along in down times.

    Mum is a community nurse though is not residing in the family home currently and dad is a rigger/crane operator in mining sector so it means that he is often on 14 hour shift - so you will be needed before and after school.

    Boys and dad all play or are involved in rugby, swimming, riding dirt bikes, are members of the local gym.

    We do have animals - dogs and cats - plus the farm has just turned over the cows for sale for the season! So if you are allergic to animals we may not be the best fit for you. If you are allergic to kids, you may find you develop a tolerance to them as we were allergic until we had them!

    During NSW School holidays there is also the option for you to work more in our household with some additional childcare requirements (usually mid April, early July and early October each year for a couple of weeks) - where we may require someone to help us around 25-30 hours instead of the usual 15-20 hours; and we would pay you an additional amount in cash for this extra time.

    We only need you every second week however your meals, accommodation and all other normal Workaway things are included even in this off week - or you can travel then return to us as your base.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    Seeking someone who could help us out for around 15-20 hours a week with some before/after school care of our boys (aged 7 & almost 11) so it is pretty easy work, particularly if you play XBOX or can jump on a trampoline or kick a rugby ball!, household support, tidying, dinner cleaning up/meal prep, school lunch boxes and bags and homework. School bus run before and after school care. We do need you to interact with them as they will love your attention and love a ball game, swimming, running, bike riding, soccer and anything in between!

    Please note: Farm is secondary and 20 minutes away from us though we are there regularly. There may be opportunity in your off week to do some days there to work towards your second year visa if applicable and legal for you to do so - we can sign off if you do the work.

    All hours are voluntary in exchange for room, board, WIFI access, CABLE TV access, laundry facilities and of course all meals. In the event WE need you more than a total of 20 hours for the household / childcare (such as in school vacation time) then we are happy to pay you for these additional hours if we are in agreement that the hours are workable. More often than not it will be 15-20 hours a week at worst.

    Over the last 9 years we have actually hosted just au pairs or demi au pairs and so far three workaways and love it!!

    We need someone who can just to jump in to our loud and busy single household family and help us out during the times we need. Generally the childcare would be around 10-15 hours and would include household help (run the vacuum over, sweep the kitchen floor, tidy boys bedroom, wash and sort laundry and put away, basic housework stuff and so on which would be about 3 hours of this).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English only

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Complete HomeStay environment - three meals a day when you're there, WIFI access, Cable TV, utilities are all included for you. Unfortunately in Australia WIFI is limited to a certain extent (unlike Europe) as you probably already know so we do have plenty of access and have never had an issue before BUT we do not allow downloading of movie files/streaming and similar otherwise we do not have sufficient access for everyone - we have 100GB and rarely go over 50GB with 5 people in the house using internet and using iPads, laptops and phones.

    DOUBLE BEDROOM WITH BUILT IN ROBE.. Cable TV available in separate lounge room after 9PM each night though of course you are welcome to join the main family areas as all other travellers have done.

    SHARE BATHROOM WITH FAMILY (although there is a separate less fancy second bathroom available if you wish to use this)
    LARGE 1/4 ACRE BLOCK on the MACQUARIE RIVER
    WALK TO TOWN, CAFES, PUBS, CINEMA, LIBRARY, GYM, POOL, ETC

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a large inland "university city" so our population swells from February through to November as students come to town to study at Charles Sturt University.

    In February we also have races here (car races) and we have a World renowned race here in October called Bathurst 1000 which turns our population from 40,000 to 160,000! We have additional car races throughout the year including a 12 hour race in February however the big race is usually 9-12 October every year and all you can hear are car engines roaring around the mountain.

    We are a metropolitan city on a smaller scale so we still have cafes and pubs galore, shopping malls, cinema, bowling alleys, many gym & fitness centres etc. We have a library and small art gallery, an English school within the TAFE centre and many large caving areas around us that can be explored.

    There is a train that runs to Sydney twice a day and it takes 3 hours; so we are not in the middle of nowhere. In our area we have many tracks to ride on, river walks, caves, gardens, national parks and are only an hour away from the famous Blue Mountains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    up to 20 hours per week

Our family along with our long term backpacker who was originally staying for a couple of months and stayed for 7 months instead!
Our 7 year old ready to get to work at the farm
One of our recent Workaways helping out with building new paddock fences at the farm
Our 7 year old getting his bike ready to take racing at the farm
A gorgeous sunset at the farm
A poddy calf (a baby cow that has been abandoned by its mother)
The starting grid barriers at the V8 Supercar Race Track. You can drive on this track all year round except when the races are actually on!
Watching a thunderstorm roll in from behind the old shearing shed at the farm
Here are the boys standing in front of one of the V8 Supercars that come to Bathurst to race our track in October every year.
The long road into the farm house. The paddocks are currently really green as we have been lucky with rain. We were in drought this time last year. This is where Grandad lives all the time.
We received a good dumping of snow nearby to us last Winter! Exciting times.....
Riding dirt bikes at the farm


Host ref number: 214598769346