Help with a Christian prayer retreat in Western Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I was a pastor in a church who decided to follow a passion to develop a mountain prayer retreat as a place for pastors to get away for spiritual renewal. During the last 22 years my family and I have been working at this with enthusiasm and other volunteers. The work has grown. Now the retreat is used by various individuals and small groups who share a common faith in Jesus Christ. Maybe you share this faith too? If you are able to help us out I'm sure that we can be an encouragement to each other. Also you will have the satisfaction of contributing to what we feel is an important facility for the churches of our area.

    We are located about 15 minutes from the nearest town. The retreat is surrounded by mountains and bordered by two fresh rivers. The area has a rich history of forestry, gold mining and an old mountain railway in the past. There is much to explore, hiking to lakes, swimming in the cold water and wild life to see. This retreat is very interesting and unique. It was developed from the ground up with lots of hard but rewarding work, mostly volunteer. We have a small saw mill to cut all our own logs into lumber. We produce our own power, build our own buildings, grow food, and try to serve our guests as best as we can. We continue to build and develop every year more. We operate in conjunction with a registered charitable ministry to help and encourage individuals and small groups to develop spiritually in the culture of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

    You will probably feel most comfortable if you share the same faith but if you do not, as long as you are open to hearing and learning about it, you will enjoy your stay with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Off grid living offers a lot to learn about sustainable living. Our culture is one that seeks to emphasize community with faith in Christ.

  • Help

    Help

    Help Needed:

    HOUSEKEEPING of cabins. This will be cleaning and changing linens after guests have stayed. This may be one room or several rooms per week. It can take anywhere from 2 hrs to 12 hrs per week.

    OTHER JOBS: Handling lumber from our saw mill, sanding, staining and stacking boards. Grounds keeping. Construction

    Let me know, are you a CLEANER? Or maybe you're just a good helper?

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own bedroom in our (manager/owner) home with access to a shared bathroom. Also in the summer weather short stays in a tent can be an option with access to public bathroom facility. Meals will either be provided in the common kitchen or the manager's house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you like to hike there are many great hikes in the area from easy to difficult. There are lakes nearby and the opportunity to fish. There are also historical sites in the area, canyons with bridges and cable car. The closest town is 21 kms away with many amenities and there are bigger metropolitan centers within 1 to 2 hours driving. On weekends we can provide a ride into town and there you could obtain public transportation or rent a vehicle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 214123386542