A blended Caribbean and English family in the heart of Kent, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    74.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family in the UK.

    I have five kids one has left to study in London when he became16 this year. I do require help with the kids, and support in teaching them languages. I could do with another pair of hands even if it is taking the eldest to the park to play football and taking the dog for a walk.
    We renovated our house and the garden is being sorted out. We still haven't finished unpacking. It is a real project. We are working on it. There is an out building that also needs to be renovated too. My husband used to work in London but now is working from home and at weekends we don't have enough time with football and activities.

    Projects we have that I need help with;

    1. a van conversion into a camper
    2. woodwork (bannister, handles added to cabinets, hall storage, wood stores, treehouses, boats, anything to make life easier)
    3. garden outbuilding construction,
    4. pizza oven/tandoor making..

    I would welcome a hand with the four children to keep on top of home education, household chores and language speaking ideally Spanish.

    Maidstone is in the heart of Kent and close to London. We live walking distance to two train stations on our road and short walk into town.. We are close to two motorways into London.

    We speak Spanish and English and understand some German and French.
    Our home is comfortable and has all the mod cons WiFi etc. You will have your own shower room.

    We have a range of allergies and food preferences so can cater, we have vegans and vegetarians in the house. We have children who love music and love people, it isn't a quiet house so beware but we do try and enjoy life!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a blended Caribbean English household. Do you like jerk chicken? Well you can have some here. You can learn how to manage a busy house and learn renovation skills too.

  • Help

    Help

    I would love some as hoc help with the kids to give me time to work on some projects and help is welcome in the garden. Ideally the person has a language to help them with i.e Spanish or French or both.

    Can you help to lay patios or build walls or secure a fence or help me put the alarm up and a few tasks that got left off the renovation?

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single bedroom own shower.
    I provide dinners, lunch and breakfast

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    At the weekend, you are free to enjoy Maidstone and surrounding countryside and London which is an hour away on the train but about 30-40mins in the car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good wifi

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 197934852594