Help us become self-sufficient on our quiet homestead in Minneota, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/06/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live on a 19.5 acre homestead. We dont sell anything to the public it is a hobby farm. We raise a couple of cows, pasture pigs, chickens and have a few rabbits, dogs and cats. We are working of fixing up our farm and cleaning it up it was neglected for years before we bought it. Would like to become self sustaining as in not having to be reliant on the grocery store and off grid eventually but that is years away yet.

    We try and grow everything organic. Looking at doing fodder to feed the animals, Have 2 large gardens and looking to expand them. Would welcome any general help with maintenance, gardening, food preservation. We are starting the process to convert a grainery to a small cabin for when friends visit and would like to build a green house. I enjoy home cooking from scratch, gardening, watching the wildlife, we butcher all our animals ourselves. We both have off the farm jobs and have fallen behind the with all the projects. We have an extra bedroom and will provide meals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach animal care, natural and organic gardening, butchering, home cooking, skill building for diy projects and maintenance. We get creative building things such as chicken tractors, we plan on turning a grain bin into a gazebo hopefully this summer. If you have talents I would love to learn and exchange our abilities.

  • Help

    Help

    Would welcome help with general maintenance, gardening, animal care, cleaning the farm up, cutting wood, planting new trees, basically if you are handy and willing to learn we are willing to teach. Would like self motivated and hard working. Some jobs are not fun but need to be done example cleaning the chicken coop but the chickens sure appreciate it. If you have questions please ask.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would like to learn Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an extra bedroom full size bed, bathroom, Washer and dryer in the basement or cloths line if you choose. Welcome to the food we have and will provide a made meal for supper and dinner on days I do not work. Have most things on hand to make things from scratch. Plenty of eggs, meat, produce and veggies. Absolutely no smoking in the house. Can smoke outside if you choose. We do prefer a nice quiet lifestyle with the peace of nature around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are welcome to hike the property anytime, their are lots of hills, trees and a creek. A lot of wildlife to be seen, Their is a state park about 15 miles away. Closest town is 5 miles away. We have many small lakes around for fishing and swimming. We have kayaks that can be used, Bikes to ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have high speed internet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of room to park most size vehicles.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or less


Host ref number: 185611979198