Help us on our property nestled in the Adelaide Hills, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2017

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a beautiful part of South Australia; our property of 14 acres is nestled in the Adelaide Hills amongst the premier boutique wine region. We are a family of 4 but out 20 yr old daughter has moved to Adelaide this year to study. Our son is 15 and is an avid soccer player. We have 5 lazy horses, 3 dogs , chooks and goats. We have been WWOOF (Willing Workers on Organic Farms) hosts for 6 years, so we are used to bringing the world to us as we can't always get out there to travel! We have many wonderful friendships across the world with our young WWOOFers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love to showcase the Adelaide Hills. We are located just out of Hahndorf, Australia's oldest German settlement town. There is a great deal of history in this area from the time South Australia was settled. We also just love to learn about their culture too. I try to speak French with my French guests which is always a bit of fun. Having been WWOOF hosts for some years we find that they just love being with an Australian family and being part of our daily life.

  • Help

    Help

    While we do not make a living off the land, I do run an bnb accommodation (we can share with you so you can see feedback about us!). So the help we need is just simply around the place. It might involve helping me in the bnb or grooming horses, weeding, painting etc. What I would love is anyone who would like to try their hand at dry stone walling and would love someone who is trained in chain saw use as there are always tree branches to cut up. If you are an experienced horse rider, then riding and caring for horses is way up there on the list of chores too!

    We try to provide a variety of work, great food and wine too. Accommodation is in the bnb IF it is available but if not we have a room in the house. There are two double bedrooms. We like visits of a week to start with and then by negotiation and if our circumstances allow we can discuss visitors staying on.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Generally bedrooms within the main hours. If not, in our bnb.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are walking distance to some of the most stunning wineries in Australia. We are only 2km out of the village of Hahndorf and there is a regular bus service into Adelaide city and beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 174126529819