Help at a horse farm near Brisbane

Country

Australia

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,

    We are a rural farm with endurance horses. We breed, train and compete to sell these horses within Australia and also internationally. It's a lot of work but fun things include competitions, the city is only 40min away (Brisbane), we have a dam, 2 very friendly dogs, car access and regular use and trips to the city for you to explore. You can also see lots of QLD and NSW if you would like to come to some horse competitions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Hi , We are seeking an enthusiastic, hard working person who shows initiative and is happy to do a range of tasks.

    We are requiring someone to help feed horses, pick up paddocks/clean stables, help with general farm and house upkeep. These jobs will vary per day and there will be days off/minimal work days when we are away at competitions. If you would like to sometimes come to competitions you are also welcome. You will see vets, farriers, can help if comfortable with horses.

    Some days will be 5hr days and others a max of 1 1/2hrs - really a mix and we won't burn you out and wish to have long term stayers.

    We need someone as well with a current licence who can drive myself to work, 4-5days per week in Brisbane (40min away down Warrego Hway). Having your own vehicle would help, but isn't essential (manual car here). This is the most important requirement of this job that we have on offer and must be covered.

    In return for your help you will receive free board, internet (for your own device), groceries and fridge always stocked for meals (sorry we don't have time to cook ourselves generally!). You will get off days for all your help, there is a car available for use providing we can discuss times, we are 1hr from Brisbane airport, 40min from Brisbane and happy to do drop offs when we head to events etc.

    You will have your own carpeted room, built in cupboard, double bed, bedside table, and private bathroom. Most importantly we require a driver for myself and someone to help around the farm when driving isn't required. Try to have lots of laughs, help you to get out and see other things as well and provide a comfortable bed. Also counts as rural work for your visas as we are a registered farming business.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private, carpeted room, built in cupboard, chest of draws, double bed- this room is connected to your own private bathroom as well. Blinds on all windows. Living within our house on the property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For time off we can drop you at a train station and you can go to Brisbane. On nights that I work in Brisbane you could also have the car and enjoy a night out heading home in the morning once I've finished work (kill two birds with one stone essentially) National parks, beaches within an hours drive, Gold Coast 2hrs drive away, can also drop you at destinations on way to events sometimes and pick up on way home. Happy to make your free time work if your happy to work with us to

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 172823237473