Help urgently needed on biodynamic mixed farm in a beautiful countryside. Peacock Creek, NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    264

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We urgently need help to prepare beds and plant berries and vegetables and herbs.

    We are developing a biodynamic farm where animals are loved and cared for with sensitivity and people are treated the same.

    We are regenerating our land using biodynamic management practices to bring vibrant health to our little patch of the planet. We have milking cows, meat cattle, sheep, pigs and chickens, ducks, guinea fowl and a goatl. We are also reforesting our land, and planting orchards, an olive grove and vineyard and large vegetable and herb gardens.

    I make my own butter, cheeses, jams, pickles and chutneys as well as fermented foods, breads and kombucha.

    If you would like to participate in a project designed to inspire others to be sustainable and to care for our planet then we would love to have you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an older couple with adult children and eight lovely grandchildren. We have travelled, lived and worked all over the world. We have, between us, lived in Australia, the US, France, Germany, Italy, Nigeria and the UK and have each visted over 40 other countries.

    We are passionate about living a peaceful organic life in the beautiful countryside of northern NSW. We are happy, energetic, cultured and loving people. We will care for you, spend time and share experiences, and where possible share the beauty of our area and lifestyle with you.

    We have been hosts on other sites for a number of years and have loved our helpers and the time we have shared with them in our previous location.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently regenerating a beautiful former dairy farm. Like most dairy farms is has few trees. As part of our regeneration programme we are in the process of obtaining biodynamic certification and Land for Wildlife status. We are currently planting over 200 trees to provide habitat for native wildlife, including a koala habitat, farm shade trees, two fruit orchards and an olive grove. We need energetic, happy, positive people to help us plant these trees ahead of spring growth.

    Climate change is a serious issue, we are doing our best to capture carbon in our soils and our trees. We will be teaching people about how to live sustainably and ways to regenerate degraded soils.

    So we would love help in making this happen. And transform this farm into a haven for all our wonderful animals and birds.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is a large farmhouse. You will have your own room, and a comfortable, very clean double bed (with electric blanket in winter) your own bathroom, shared only with occasional guests . We share the main living room (with a cosy open fire in winter), dining room and a kitchen and meals area.

    There are verandas on three sides of the house with wonderful places to sit and relax and watch the animals and birds. We have an outside eating area with BBQ, and you have the option to use that anytime you would prefer to cook for yourself.

    Other than if you choose to cook for yourself, we provide three good meals a day. We are both good cooks, and love a real variety of foods, cuisine includes, French, Italian, Middle Eastern, Moroccan, Indian, African, Mexican and good old Australian. It includes vegetarian and meat and fish-based meals. We cook everything from fresh, mainly organic ingredients, no pre-cooked, frozen meals here. I bake my own bread, cakes and biscuits, make my own preserves, chutneys, pickles and cordials etc. I make butter from our own milk, along with cheeses, yogurt and anything else we eat. You will eat like kings and queens here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a truly beautiful area, right on the edge of the Richmond Ranges. We are within hiking distance of beautiful swimming holes where you will share the water with platypus and yabbies. And scenery so beautiful it will take your breath away. We are close to the stunning Clarence River, and when we get time will take you for a trip on our boat to explore it.

    We are 4kms from the lovely little village of Bonalbo, home of the first sheep-dog trials in Australia. In the villages there are a few shops, a chemist, post office, a swimmimg pool, pub and a club. The nearest large town is Casino, 50 minutes away. Your own transport will be a real bonus here.

    We are sociable, friendly people, who love company and living a peaceful life. We would enjoy sharing our home with tidy, respectful people who enjoy the quiet of the countryside. We do not like conflict, negativity, drunkeness and have a zero tolerance for drugs of any kind. We are non-smokers and do not allow smoking on or near our farm.

    Other than that we are tolerant, generous and very happy to ensure you have a wonderful stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 148534989762