Help out with 5 year old twins and lovely property in a beautiful village in the high Alpujarra mountains



Favourited 51 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

  • Description


    We are a bilingual English/Spanish speaking household living in the Alpujarra mountains, south of Granada, since 2012. I also speak good French. My husband and I moved out here from London and bought a beautiful old Moorish house and renovated it for the arrival of our boy/girl twins. Since then my husband has passed away, but I decided to stay here to bring up the children and I have never once regretted that decision. We live in an absolutely beautiful village, surrounded by spectacular mountains and a wonderful local community.

    The village is quite remote so we need someone who is pretty self contained and happy to read and walk in their spare time. We also have two cats, an olive grove and a small garden. The children are friendly and very sociable. They are open minded and creative and happy to take part in most activities. They love the outdoors and are just beginning to read and write and are very motivated by books and stories. Ideally I would like someone who could spend a couple of hours with the children and a couple of hours helping me with the upkeep of the house (gardening, watering plants, touching up paintwork, waxing tiles etc.)

    You would have self-contained accommodation on the ground floor of the house which includes bedroom, kitchen/living room and a large bathroom.

    You need to be a self-motivated, flexible and intuitive person willing to share your energy and enthusiasm for life. In return you will receive the love and adoration of two wonderful little human beings, my gratitude, a very confortable bed and good healthy food. I would welcome either a male or a female and I would also consider a single parent with one small child over the age of 5, but prefer not have a couple.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The people who have come to help in the past have described this as a peaceful place for growing and reflecting and a genuine space for connecting with people and nature.

  • Help


    Childcare: playing/going for walks/painting/art projects/baking/teaching numeracy and literacy

    General maintenance: gardening/watering/tidying children’s room and play areas/touching up paintwork/waxing tiles

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation


    We live in a two story 300 year old Moorish house which has been loving restored with insulated roofs and underfloor heating. We have a wood-burner and open fireplaces. The main living quarters are upstairs but your accommodation will be downstairs where we have a second living room, guest bedroom and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Depending on the season there are many things you can do in your spare time. Most people come here to walk, there are hundreds of old mule paths and mountain tracks to explore to your heart's delight.

    The Sierra Nevada mountains are just over an hour's drive away for those who enjoy skiing, and the coast is just over an hour's drive for the water lovers out there. You will be insured on our car and are welcome to use it whenever you like.

    There are classes you can dip into (pilates, pottery, music lessons, horse riding, creative writing to name but a few)

    The pace is slow so don't come if what you're looking for is cinemas and nightlife, we do have a couple of friendly bars and reastaurants up the road though.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 145928974647