Growing vegetables to feed low-income families, BC Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    57

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in a log house on a lakefront community farm. The 133-acre farm is owned by a co-operative and is currently leased to a few different farmers, including us. We operate a non-profit organization, growing a variety of vegetables to feed people in our community. We believe that healthy food is a right, and all people should have access to it, whether they can afford to buy it or not. We also believe that if people work together, we can create positive change in society. Our goal is to produce fresh, healthy food for all members of our community, while earning just enough money to sustain our project and support our family. This year, we'll be providing vegetables to the Food Bank and Family Enrichment Centre, as well as providing a free weekly bag of veggies to low-income families, and operating a weekly free "farmers' market". We also sell vegetables at the local farmers' markets to raise money for our programs. In addition, we help maintain a community garden in town.

    A little bit about us: We are David (35), Laura (43), and Jeremiah (16). We all have many years experience with gardening and farming. David and Laura are both passionate about growing food and sharing it with others. David studied Ecosystem Management Technology at college, and volunteered here on this farm for ten years before moving here full-time. Laura has done a lot of travelling and volunteering, including Workaway, and has been growing food for over 20 years. We all love meeting new people and hosting travellers.

    We have two dogs, two cats, and a small flock of chickens and guinea hens. There are also cows here on the farm, but they're not ours.

    We really need a lot of help, and would love to have someone stay and work with us for the whole growing season. You would have the opportunity to learn a lot about growing food, from start to finish.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At our farm, you'll learn a lot about growing vegetables organically. You'll also experience the joy of being part of an organization that helps people in need. We can help you learn to speak English. We will also have fun together, playing games, canoeing, swimming.

  • Help

    Help

    Starting in April, we'll be preparing the garden for planting and starting seedlings in the greenhouse. Through the spring and summer, we need a lot of help in the garden - planting, weeding, harvesting. We'll also need help at the farmers' markets and with operating our other programs. And there are always other things to do, like getting firewood.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, intermediate Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bedroom with a futon bed available. Also, there are lots of beautiful locations to set up a tent for camping (if you don't have a tent, you can use ours).

    We'll provide three mainly vegetarian meals per day. Help with meal preparation, cooking, and clean-up is expected.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located at Horse Lake, about 25km from the town of 100 Mile House. Bus service to 100 Mile House is available through Adventure Charters. We can pick you up from there. We go into town a couple times each week - you are welcome to come along to explore the town and do shopping.

    It's a short walk through the hayfield to get to the lake, where there is a canoe that can be used. You can also go swimming and fishing. We have a bicycle you can borrow, if you want to go for a ride on the quiet, gravel road. Our farm is located in a quiet, peaceful area, with lots of beautiful trees.

    Smoking (cigarettes) is okay in designated areas, but no drugs please.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

David, Laura, Violet, Jeremiah
Host ref number: 133625426438

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host