I need help with the garden and to restore my farm in the Balkan mountains in Vratsa region of Bulgaria.

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 81 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    497

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I need help on my farm in a wonderful place in the Balkan mountains in Vratsa region of Bulgaria. My plan is to restore/transform the place into a Creative B&B Eco Farm.

    My place is situated in a remote place in the mountains and I live alone up here, quite far away from nearest neighbour and three kilometers from the closest village. However eventhough its so far away from society Im just 1 1/2 hour door to door from the capital Sofia, so its possible to go there for a daytrip or over the weekend. There is also a holiday resort with six swimming pools and restaurants a few kilometers from the house.
    The location in the mountains makes it an ideal place for outdoor activities and Its a perfect place for people who want to get away from urban stress and high tech society and connect with nature and wildlife.
    My plan is to create a back to basic B&B retreat, in this wonderful peaceful place,and I will promote all kind of artistic expressions as well as a sustainable and selfsufficient lifestyle. With back to basic I mean a simple life in harmony with nature through permaculture by using the resources in a sustainable way and at the same time become as self-sufficient as possible. For instance by using eco toilets, compost the waste, and make our own daily products like soap, schampoo, candels, essential oils etc on the farm.
    I have done some work on the mainhouse, but there are so much left to do and I would love having some people comming this summer 2019 to help me clear the land and create a nice garden and especially with some building work. I would for instance like to build some huts and a tree house for my planned B&B retreat.

    At the moment I just have my dog Kiro, but in the future I will also have animals like chickens, goats, cats and more dogs on the farm. I will problably get some chickens this summer.

    I dont smoke, but my workawayers and guests are allowed to smoke outdoors.
    At the moment there is a limited access to internet, however you will have to have your own internet plan/contract to connect with the internet. For Free Wi-Fi and a good internet connection, you can go to a cafe in a village a few kilometers from the house.

    A little about me:
    Im a lively, yet easy going, kind and adventurous Swedish woman. I think Im quite fun to be around and I love a good conversation. Travelling has always been a big part of my life and the past two years before buying my farm in April 2018 I was living as a full time nomad in a motor home travelling around in Europe. It was a great life, I lived on beaches, up in the mountains on the countryside and under the stars by fire places with nice people I met on my way.
    Im also a very creative person and like to use different art expressions....creativity is like oxygen to me...couldnt live without it! Much of my art I create from natural materials in my surroundings and when I lived on the road I used to sell my art at markets and beaches.
    You could say Im a sociable lonely wolf, as I dont mind at all to be alone up on my mountain, but I also think it would be nice to have some people around from time to time to socialize and exchange ideas with.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My Place is situated in an amazing part of Bulgaria with absolutely stunning nature with caves, rivers, mountains and picturesque villages. There are a lot of things to do and explore in your free time, like treeking, rafting, cave excursions, fishing, biking, horseback riding, mountain climbing, hang gliding and much more. There are also a lot of small villages nerby where you can get to know the friendly local people and get a glimt of the rural bulgarian lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    I need a lot of help with many different tasks on the farm. It will be everything from building and repare works on the house and out buildings, building huts and a tree house, clearing the land, tiling, ceramics, create a permaculture garden, ecotoilets..... to artistic work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in the main house.
    You will get three meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner that will be prepared by me or a volunteer at the farm. Otherwise the kitchen is open and available at all time if you would like to have something in between the meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is located in the mountains close to a village called Ignatitsa in the area of Vratsa in northwestern Bulgaria in the Balkan Mountain, with a number of natural parks and reserves. Vrachanski Balkan is a reserve protecting natural rock formations and offer incredible rock climbing opportunities. In this reserve, one can also find hiking trails, rivers and caves. Its also quite close to Sofia, only just about one hour by train from a villaga close to the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 131921138712