Help with house-sitting and watching over baby turtles in Trinidad, Carribbean

Country

Trinidad and Tobago

Favourited 130 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    PLEASE NOTE! Presently Trinidad has reopened its borders and you are free to enter the country as of 07/17/2021
    I live in the USA but I am remodeling a house on the beach on the island of Trinidad that I plan on using in the near future as my winter home. I need someone to house sit many times during the year when I'm not there. I am of retirement age and live alone so it would be nice to have company and share my Caribbean beach house with many people.

    This is an unusual request but here are some of the benefits that awaits you on the island of Trinidad. I had already remodeled some of the ground floor just need new kitchen and appliances plus new beds so it will be a scant for few months. There is a security system but no internet is available on the beach right now. You can go into town about 20 mins away by taxi $5 TT per person each way. (1 US $ = $6 TT.)

    PLEASE NOTE! there has been a lot of sea erosion along the shore and no one was allowed to work on the house for a year during COVID closures in Trinidad. This is a situation for a more rugged person who can handle less than modern accommodations until we get some work done. That's where you can help my contractor who I have hired and will be there for you to guide you around the country so you will have someone there if you need any help.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    1) You get to explore an amazing island with very friendly beautiful people and because the beach is used mostly by locals you get to experience true island people and culture.
    2) If you want you can stay as long as you wish the house has 6 bedrooms and I do not want to be there by myself.
    3) You can study the leather back turtles from about April thru August. Watch the egg laying process which is one hour long and will make you a turtle lover and you will want to protect them
    4) There are other beaches close by and are all different so you can change up your scenery and meet new friends
    5) you can get a real long lasting tan and lots of vitamin D
    6) One US $ gets you $6.40 so your dollar goes further
    7) I have people on the island and close by that will assist you anytime and pick you up at the airport.

  • Help

    Help

    The only expectations of my guests will be:

    1) Assist my contractor with manageable tasks
    2) secure my home and belongings while you stay there
    3) protect and watch over the baby leather back turtles as they are hatched and return them safely to the sea when appropriate so that they do not become prey to dogs, birds and humans
    4) I prefer to host couples or more at the same time so one does not get lonely since its a somewhat quiet beach. No shops or activities close by. Taxis are available easily.
    5) I provide room but no food since I'm not there when you are there but food is fairly inexpensive on the island
    6) no skills necessary but a love for the beach, the Caribbean life and people, and a great love for the ocean and the leather back turtles will be helpful.
    7) Manage projects that Im working on like a new kitchen, delivery from the furniture store with beds, stove etc.

    Here are some special projects I have at hand to complete because my local caretaker has just fallen unexpectedly ill and may never return to work since he might be on chemo.
    1) Landscaping design and supervision( I pay for all equipment and materials) I need someone to design and supervise the project
    2) measure the kitchen and help me order new cupboards and equipment like stove etc. There is a kitchen there now but I want new
    3) receive the orders of furniture from the department store. I can purchase online from the US

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Simple but clean beds, linens, showers and basic kitchen in a large concrete house directly on the Atlantic Ocean. I only provide room but NO FOOD and NO PAY since I'm not there when you are but food is pretty inexpensive on the island. If you like the island and we get along you are welcome to stay longer or come back anytime there is an opening. I need most of the year filled since I live in the USA and will only visit in the winter.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can have all the time off to discover the island all I ask is that you sweep the yard and beach front everyday and pick up any sea debris,weeds and secure my belongings. Keep an eye on maintenance needed if any. I have someone who will handle any issues or fix anything. You can party but absolutely NO DRUGS! I am just looking for a house sitter.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 128998731157