Help around our home and garden in Tolga, Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a mature couple with adult children who live elsewhere. Kev loves motorbikes, Heather loves gardening. Our 1 acre property is designed with permaculture principles in mind and has a variety of fruit trees, raised vegetable beds, herbs, compost, worm farm, chickens and of course our dog Athena. We really appreciate getting some help with all of this when we can, and after being part of another volunteering exchange program for about 20 years, then a different one for about 10, we heard about Workaway and thought we'd give it a go too. Ours is a strictly non-smoking property.
    Right now the project we have in mind would suit a couple with their own transport and some carpentry or building skills.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For anyone interested, we are always happy to share thoughts and experiences related to permaculture, general gardening skills, and the basic use of gardening and maintenance tools. We also enjoy a good discussion on a variety of topics, and hearing about other people's travel and life experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    The help begins at 8am and we are usually finished between 12 and 1pm with a tea/coffee break around 10am. We begin with watering if it's dry weather, taking the dog for a walk, looking after the chooks and collecting eggs, picking any fruit or veg that are ripe, any of the other garden chores or whatever projects we are focussing on at the time. Right now a carpenter or someone with building experience would be really useful for some renovations on the caravan.
    Volunteers will shop for and cook their own meals and will be immediately reimbursed on the shopping docket. This means we all get to eat what we prefer at whatever times suit us best.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer our guests a private, comfortable, self contained caravan which is totally solar powered with solar hot water, with a covered outdoor area, free wifi, tv and dvd player. There is one queen size bed, so it's perfect for either a couple or a single person, a full size gas stove, indoor shower and toilet.
    When you are not working or exploring the region, you are welcome to swim in our saltwater pool or relax in the hammock.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on the Atherton Tablelands in far north Queensland, south west of Cairns, which is an area famous for it's rainforest, waterfalls and volcanic crater lakes. Here you have the opportunity the see some unique wildlife and amazing scenery.
    Unfortunately public transport is limited to the bus from Cairns to Atherton, so it would be ideal for you to have your own transport, but if not, we are happy to take guests on a few excursions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Like many places in rural Australia, our Wi-Fi connection is a bit dodgy and can be quite slow, however we could arrange specific times for better access if required.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Our carport roof limits the height of vehicles that can enter our back yard, but within this limit you are welcome to park your camper or van here so that you have close access to the caravan accommodation and facilities.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 126547197676