Help in our large house with about 2 1/2 acres of land, in North West Devon, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/01/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live with my husband and our 2 Irish Wolfhounds. We have a large house with about 2 1/2 acres of land, in North West Devon. My husband Mark works full time and I am retired and we would welcome some help around the house, in the garden and general help with the dogs. Maybe helping to look after 2 giant, friendly dogs would appeal to you, we also have 2 very shy upstairs cats.

    We live quietly most of the time, but love sharing our home when friends coming calling.

    Feeding and walking the dogs, watering, gardening are some of our daily tasks. Someone able to look after the house (and animals) if we are absent during the day or several days would be very welcome!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am used to helping people with their English. I was a qualified adult teacher, mainly teaching jewellery making. We need someone wanting to live in the countryside, where we grow some of our own vegetables and cook family meals, not fast food or the fast pace of life. We do however love live music and will take our workaway to several evenings of live music.
    Our dogs are our family and their interaction with us, is also worth looking at.

  • Help

    Help

    I, Rosemary only work outside in reasonable weather, but can show someone how to weed, spread bark etc.. In the house, I could use help with the vacuuming or mopping, but not every day and the dogs are fed 3 times a day and walked around our field, so maybe one walk a day would be very helpful. I am not as strong as I used to be and tire quickly, so someone to work with would be a blessing. Occasionally maybe some house sitting so that we can visit family .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bedded room with one available wardrobe and some drawers. Sharing a bathroom with us, but with a shower and toilet also available downstairs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport is very limited, but we are willing to do a certain amount of running about, say once a week. We also have a man's and a woman's bicycle that could be borrowed if required.
    We live near to one of the main Royal Horticultural Society gardens, which I would willing take someone to and take them in with me on my membership card. The gardens are very beautiful and there are lots of educational projects on all year round, but some are rather expensive to take part in.
    We always eat together at a table and discuss the days happenings and the news, both Local and Global.
    Our hobbies apart from our home, garden and the dogs are dancing, (mainly Latin) and Mark last year started with his first bee hive plus is learning to play the conga drums.
    We have had people living with us before and like to treat them as family. Many years ago I offered a home to an Italian girl who ended up working for me and we are still friends 30 years on. When my late husband was ill a Spanish friend came over to live here and help me, on an au-pair basis.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 124494572298