Visit us and become part of our little Farm life in Namibia

Country

Namibia

Favourited 307 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    380

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello dear curious and travel friendly people,
    We are a family run project on a farm situated just outside the capital of Namibia, Windhoek, 20 km east at the foot of the Auas Mountains.
    It can be best described as a dynamic farm/tourism business. We started three years back but is has grown very rapidly since. Hence we have a lot to do on the farm and helping hands are always a happy sight.
    We are a family of four;
    Manni, the only man in our family, 59 years of age, he is involved in tourism and many other projects which would take too long to write down. In short: he is a very creative mind with lots of ideas and normally he has thousands of projects running at the same time.
    Then there is Ulli, the heart of the family, a 58 year old mother and wife with lots to talk and philosophize about. She has just as many ideas about life but generally sticks to making sure that everybody is taken well care of and that the project is developing into a good direction.
    They both have two children together which one of them is Ume my 29 year old sister. Ume studied all kinds of interesting things, which can be summed up as (how can we create an environment for people to be at their natural best). Ume works freelance as a facilitator for organisations that see the need to invest in their employees and enhance their personal development. And then there is Ume`s small sister which is me (Tina), I am 27 years old and in love with all kinds of animals. But most of all, I love horses mules and goats, and not to forget sheep as well. I studied two years tourism management but soon decided that my heart and my calling lies in Namibia. Then there is Dirk, 30 years of age, he puts all his love and energy into our garden. We try to base it on permaculture principles. When he is not busy making compost, he is playing his guitar or going for a run in the mountains.
    The landowner, where it is located on, is Bernhard, he is a warmhearted young men, he and his fiance stay 5 km from the project in the old farmhouse where he also grew up.
    Out of these characters a project has developed that allowed all of us to put our skills together and create this place.
    We are renting a piece of land close to Windhoek where we have been building and creating for the last three years. Since this project has become really a hand full we are employing six permanent wonderful people to help us with the daily business. There are cows, goats, sheep horses, mules, chicken and cats out there that are all very grateful for loving tendering care. Such is the poly-tunnel and the outside garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a German - Namibia Family (4th generation already in Namibia). We all love the land and its people very much and would be happy to invite you to embrace this project and thus learn about Namibia and its people and their culture. We do not expect you to have any kind of previous knowledge or skills, we will help you to gain some and gladly learn form you and your culture as well. We travel a lot through the country and there will be a high chance that we can arrange for you to see other parts of Namibia as well. Among our employees we have people from the far north Kavango region as well as from the south of Namibia. It is really a diverse and lovely team on the Farm.

  • Help

    Help

    Help required on the farm

    Project work:
    - Building a mountain camp
    - Renovating an old wooden hut that shall become the restaurant
    - Creating a webpage for us
    - Drying herbs and general garden work
    - Riding Horses and Mules for further training
    - Training Frodo and Mowgly (two sweet donkeys) to pull things - eventually a Donkeycart
    - servicing an Old Ford F350 (it drives around but needs a proper service)
    - Teaching me how to play the guitar

    Help with the Animals:

    Cows - there are generally about 4 -6 cows that need to be milked in the morning. The milk is then used to make cottage cheese and yogurt, and sometimes hard cheese.

    Mules - We have 16 Mules that live independently on the farm, which means that they are not stabled in.They come everyday by themselves back to the house for grooming and love, sometimes they are lucky and they get a snack. They are trained as pack mules and the younger ones of them are in the process of being broken in for riding.

    Horses - together with the herd of mules, there are 11 horses that walk with them in disguise, some of them can be ridden, some are retired and one of them is still being trained. Then there is "baby Nelson" who will turn 1 year old in January.

    Goats - the clowns of the circus are our little 6 dwarf goats. In that herd you will find two sheep that do believe they are goats (so please don't tell them they are not). Their job is to keep everybody happy and working. If you seem to have finished your work be sure that they will make a plan that there is something else for you to do.

    Chicken - we have a chicken coop (which became slightly too big) so it would be more appropriate to say a chicken palace. The eggs are used for consumption, if you can find them.

    Cats - 5 happy little cats run around and try their luck to catch mice, you should not rely on their skills and rather feed them in the evening, they are for sure grateful for that.

    Generally help is needed with the daily care of the animals, grooming them all (except the chicken) and feeding them. There are always construction works on the farm. We are also building a restaurant area for our internal guest as well as day visitors such as mountain bikers, hikers and birders to get some refreshment.
    We are hosting children holiday camps and class outings from time to time and would appreciate some input and help with the children.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a wooden hut on the Farm for you to feel at home. Hot water and electricity is provided. There should be plenty of space for you to feel at home. We will provide you with food and definitely always good coffee or tea ;)
    We do have wifi on the farm for you to use.
    there is a swimming pool that is great for a refreshment after work or for he brave folks before sunrise ;)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is quit a range of activities to do on the farm. If you love hiking, there are some pretty mountains right in front of you. The wildlife is magnificent and also for keen birders there is a lot to see. Windhoek is just 20 minutes car drive and there will be plenty of time to explore the capital. I go for a hack with my Horse quite frequently and am always happy to have company.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 119565255221