Come and stay with us on our smallholding in beautiful west wales- UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 43 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    !!!! Working Lodger wanted !!!! 😊

    Hi Guys, our lovely lodger has sadly left us and we are back on the hunt for the right person to become part of our smallholding.
    Based in a beautiful valley in West Wales, Old Railway View is a large smallholding, home to me (Jen), my partner Kyle and an array of animals. Here is the list....
    2 humans, 3 dogs, 2 ferrets, 6 pigs, 6 goats, 32 sheep (some mega rare breeds and interesting types) 11 horses, 7 ducks, 2 chickens...and lots of wildlife!!
    The smallholding is made up from grazing (swamp-like currently), stables and out buildings, woodland, a disused railway track and a beautiful river. There is ample space to explore / fish / nature watch or make a veg plot ect if you'd like. We are currently doing major work on the yard to create dry stables and sheds for the rest of winter and beyond.
    We are a fun and happy household and our lodger is welcome to become part of the family, or keep them self to them self if preffered. We are a couple in our thirties, eventsy, festival, outdoorsey people who love where we live and see the fun in life. We go away a lot for work so there will be times when you have the place to yourself. We do have the occasional rowdy party (once or twice a year) though!
    Although it feels very rural here, the local village is only a 10 minute walk away. Super market, doctors, take away, pub ect all easy access.
    Single person or a couple considered. No pets ideally but again can be discussed.
    We raise some of our animals for meat so if this offends we are not the place for you. We raise our animals with love and care and appreciate where our food comes from. We both eat meat, smoke and drink (not alcoholics!!) but no smoking in the house.

    So if you like the sound of our place her is the deal:
    You get.....
    Free rent in our home, you get a lovely double room, with optional dog hot water bottles. All services are paid for.
    You get the run of the smallholding and the opportunity to implement your own ideas or projects if desired.
    As much horse riding as you like provided you are a competent rider - I am happy to tech you to ride too (I am a qualified riding instructor).
    Experience on a large smallholding with many types of animal.
    Experience with farm machinery if wanted.
    The chance to live in a beautiful part of rural West Wales.

    What we want in return:

    It boils down to approx 2 -3hrs hard graft per day, in summer it will be less as there is less to do. This is split into morning and evening work.
    You will be responsible for the day to day running of the small holding, feeding and watering all stock and mucking out when horses are in. There will also be some jobs that need doing weekly like cleaning out the chicken shed ect.
    When we are home we will usually be doing this with you so it will take less time, when we are away- you are on your own! Running a smallholding is a 7 days per week job, you will of course be able to take days off but these will need to be co-ordinated with us so that the farm is not left unattended!

    Our ideal lodger:

    Between 25 and 40, strong, healthy, happy, motivated and must be an animal lover.
    Experience with animals, horses in particular would be fantastic, as would the ability to ride to a capable standard.
    Happy to get up in the morning and do the work needed.
    Someone who is a good house mate, easy going, happy, tidies up after themselves ect.
    Competent log chopper and fire starter-we only have a log burner for heating!

    This is a beautiful and rewarding place to live and we are an easy couple to get on with.
    If you cant deal with the cold, rain, mud, animals or getting up in the morning.....then this is not the job for you...but if you can you might just never want to leave!

    West wales is a beautiful and welcoming part of the uk. There is stunning natural scenery and wild life and a rich and old culture and comunity.

    Thanks for reading,

    Jen 😊

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Animal care skills, tractor driving, horse riding and a wonderful welsh community. Back to nature, low tech lifestyle.

  • Help


    2 to 3 hours work per day on the smallholding looking after a variety of animals including horses and sheep. Feeding, daily care, mucking out . Farm maintinence and as much horse riding as you like if you are a competent rider. We are looking for strong fit and above all happy and enthusiastic animal lovers. It is very wet and muddy here in winter so be prepared!!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English , a small amount of french

  • Accommodation


    Double room in our cottage. You will live as our house mates. We work away a lot so you will be home alone quit often and responsible for Tue farm (we will obviously train you up first!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a beautiful rural part of West Wales, 20 minutes drive from the beach. There are lots of things to see and do in the local area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 to 3 hrs per day. 7 days per week. Days off are fine so long as we are not away at the same time

Host ref number: 119195241943