Maintenance, carpentry and decorating help in the centre of Sherborne, Dorset

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 1034 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    100  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/07/2020

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a lovely, atmospheric home in the busy market town of Sherborne. The house is simple and comfortable and really close to the lovely high street in Sherborne with shops and cafes.

    About me: I love Colour and Astrology and do individual consultations and teach workshops. I also teach English as a foreign language and teach adults and children. I live a healthy lifestyle and am usually vegetarian, just eating fish occasionally. I love to host Workawayers, the mutual exchange, making new friends and sharing the simple beauty of my life. I've been so delighted and grateful for all the special people who have come to stay and help!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would experience life in a lovely market town in England with the freedom to explore right from the front door of the house with cafes, pubs, bookshops, the Abbey and two castles all within 10 minutes walk. Sherborne has a lot going on from music to art events and a buzzy atmosphere in the daytime.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for help with maintenance, carpentry and decorating. The gutters could do with being cleaned and perhaps repaired in places. The stairway and landing needs re-decorating. There's a wooden window sill that needs replacing.

    The other area of expertise that would be really wonderful are help with Wix and Mailchimp. I have a new Wix website and need to learn how to update that. I also need to learn about marketing, promotion and creating a newsletter.

    Over the spring and summer there is always tasks in the garden that needs doing, such as cutting back and weeding.

    Rosie is studying French so it would be great to host someone from France in the second half of May / early June.

    Individuals or couples are welcome.

    Your contribution would be very much appreciated. In return for you putting in 100% I will do our best to give you an experience to treasure.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own bedroom with a bathroom nearby. We eat together in the evening and mostly lunch too, though occasionally you would make yourself a sandwich for lunch.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sherborne train station is about 10 minutes walk down the high street and from there you can get a direct train to London or down to Devon and Cornwall. The house is just a few minutes walk to the high street in Sherborne with cafes, bookshops, market and a beautiful Abbey. You can also get a bus into Yeovil from just over the road. During your visit I'll take you on some lovely local walks or maybe to the sea in the summer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days

Amanda in bluebell wood
Rosie loves the sea...
Top the high street in Sherborne
Garden path with honeysuckle pergola
Our cat Star asleep
Guest room
Sitting room
Back of the house
Amanda and Rosie



























































Host ref number: 1191828894e1