Help me in day-to-day household activities and to prepare for moving house in Hamburg, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 94 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/05/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! I am from the US but for the past 6 years I have been traveling around the world working as a humanities teacher at different international schools. Most recently, I have been living in Hamburg, Germany. But now I am packing up and heading to Dubai this summer to start the next chapter....but I need your help!

    I have a very sweet and easy-going dog, Tilda, whom I adopted from Romania. Her favourite activities include meeting new people, going on walks, and sleeping, Therefore, I think she is the best dog in the world!

    Just like Tilda, I am a very easy-going and friendly, but I have a tendency to procrastinate, lose focus, and be very inefficient when alone.....which is a bad combination when preparing to move continents in 3 months.

    Therefore, to help me get organized, stay on task, and become more productive so that I am actually allowed to live and work in Dubai, I'm looking for someone to come and stay in my apartment to help the process along.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It will be great!! Very casual atmosphere and I will identify/clarify any expectations further.

    You can try learning German or English or just get a sense of what's involved in moving countries and/or learning about international education.

  • Help

    Help

    Since I am moving to a new country in June, I have LOTS to do...

    I am looking for someone who can help me in day-to-day household activities (ie. walking Tilda, tidying up, dinner prep, etc) and also help me in the process of moving (ie. minor apartment repairs/maintenance and cleaning, cataloging and advertising my furniture to sale and helping sale it, facilitating with other steps in the process (getting visas, arranging shipment, appointments, bringing a dog, etc).

    You will have the opportunity to focus on or choose what to do and how to do it. As long as the essentials (feeding and walking the dog and keeping the apt tidy) are done, the rest is up to you! I'll give you a list, some suggestions, and specific instructions at first, but the rest is up to you. You choose what to do and how to get it done....

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The apartment is part of a larger house. I have bought all the furniture which include 2 bedrooms (1 king bed and 1 double bed) and 1 bathroom. It has a large family room with couch, dining table and tv. The kitchen includes an oven, stove, dishwasher, and small refrigerator. The apartment also has excellent wifi and a washer/dryer.

    Additionally, several grocery stores and small shops are within walking distance. The H-Bahn (bus stop) is right outside the door and the S-Bahn (train station) is only 1.3 kilometers away; making access to downtown Hamburg only minutes away!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hamburg is a fantastic place to be this time of year. You'll have lots of opportunity to explore the city and the surrounding area of Northern Europe...quick and easy access to surrounding cities like Amsterdam, Copenhagen, and Berlin via trains and lots of budget airlines to further destinations!

    Additionally, you (and the dog) will have the apartment all to yourself for most of the day while I'm at work and also when I'm traveling (I have two confirmed trip as of now). Over the past year, I have had 6 different pet sitters come and stay with Tilda when I travel and, so far, without any problems or complaints (after I returned home, four of the sitters enjoyed it so much they extended their stay!!)

    Both me and my dog are very easy-going and Hamburg is a fun place to visit. I am looking for someone who is able to solve problems and is self-sufficient, ...someone who takes the initiative and doesn't need constant directions...someone who will finish a task they start and do it well. I am also looking for someone who really like/love dogs, is honest, and fun to be around! It would be extra nice if you're able to speak German and can cook delicious meals :)

    Let me know if you have any questions at all!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

2nd Bedroom (with Tilda)
Sunset from balcony of apartment
Your room (2nd Bedroom)
Living Room right when I moved in...
Your room (2nd Bedroom)
Host ref number: 118361714584