Help create a ramp and some outdoors tasks in Kauai

Country

United States

Favourited 413 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in Hanapepe Valley, at the end of the road, on the island of Kauai. The nearest town is about 5 minutes drive away. We are on the west side of the island. The beach is about 2 miles from our house. Our place is very private and quiet except for the birds, some bullfrogs at night and the numerous chickens inhabiting the island. Hanapepe River borders our property and we have lots of flowering plants and trees. We are a couple with grown children. We have 4 pet goats, a pet chicken, one cat, one dog, one cow and a water lily pond with some koi.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for someone or a couple to come for one week. I am currently looking for some help with a specific project that requires some muscle. I'm creating a ramp with dirt and rock down to the river. I also have a few random yard projects and other projects I'd like some help with, including weeding and planting. I would like to have 4 hrs of help a day for 5 of the seven days.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate bedroom and bath. King size bed and a single bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have had a few stays with volunteers. For the most part it has been a positive experience.
    Salt Pond Beach is nearby with good swimming.
    Numerous sites on the west side, including Waimea Canyon with lots of hiking trails.
    Hanapepe town Friday Night Art Walk with vendors, live music and food trucks.
    We eat meat and drink alcohol. I applaud a vegan and vegetarian diet, but it does not fit with our lifestyle. For most dinners we will be cooking and i don't want to stress over meeting nutritional needs.
    We do not attend church but there are several to choose from in town.
    There is a bus route in town that travels most of the island, but it is limited in accessing many beaches and hiking trails. In order to explore the island properly, you need to rent a car.
    I am sorry to say, depending on the season we have an abundance of mosquitos. To some this is not a problem, to others it's misery. If you are one with sweet, tasty blood, be forewarned.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 114872274664