Steven

aus: Deutschland

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Australien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    15.05.2019 - 14.05.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Beschreibung

    I just spent the last 5 years as an ex-pat in Berlin. After working as a data-scientist, I took some time off, learned a bunch of social science-y stuff, and decided to become self-employed by starting my own wholesale (vegan) Bakery. It's been a wild ride, but the bakery is shutting down, and I'm looking to take some time off to explore the world, and myself (and hopefully improve my surf while I'm at it).

    Inside my family, I'm used to playing the straight man, but I definitely have my own sense of humour and enjoy all sorts of conversations (surface level down to ocean floor). My friends would tell you I'm very reliable, and I tend to agree: I don't like over-promising and then under delivering.

    I like a clean & tidy work space, and as someone who's worked as a professional baker for the last 2 years: I appreciate a mis-en-place and a functional kitchen like you wouldn't believe. I still bake for fun, and have a mild obsession with sourdough bread.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Altenpflege
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I have a Bachelor's degree in Math and a Master's degree in Statistics. I spent a year working as a Data Scientist, an off year programming a bunch of micro-(web)services, and then 2 years as a professional baker.

    I've worked as a teaching assistant in University, and I've also led baking (as well as Statistics) workshops once I left academic; frankly, I love that moment where you see your student(s) "get it".

    I've played every role in a small business: floor manager, (un)skilled labourer, tax advisor, bureaucrat, delivery driver, etc. I've organised and lead workshops/community events, I've done home repair, built tabletops, scrubbed toilets, you name it. I fix things and optimise systems for fun.

    I've tried my hand at everything short of fermenting my own beer and wiring up my fuse box -- but I'm not afraid to learn, if need be.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English (native), German (B2.2), some French

  • Alter

    30

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegetarian/Vegan

Fotos

Feedback