Kester & Annalaura

  • USA
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi! We are a young couple from the southeastern United States. We graduated from college a couple of years ago and spent about a year doing Workaways throughout Europe and the United Kingdom. During that time we did childcare, maintenance/outdoor work, and hospitality at a vegan B&B in Spain; helped out with household tasks/cleaning/gardening projects at different stays in France and the UK; and created a website and branding for a healing retreat center in Devon, England. We spent the last year living on a farm in the United States helping with childcare, eldercare, and various farming/gardening projects. We were recently able to be vaccinated and are looking to travel again!

    We are hard-working and always want to make sure hosts feel that they're getting a fair end of the deal. We are easy-going and low maintenance— We always enjoy socializing with hosts but we can also entertain ourselves with our own projects, reading, taking day-trips, etc. We are very adaptable and love to be immersed in new cultures and new environments. We also like to cook; we are both vegan and are seeking vegan or vegan-friendly environments. We hope to someday start our own farm animal sanctuary, so we would love to get more experience working with animals, conscious communities and non-profits. We also have an interest in eco and social activism and environmentally-focused work. Most of all, we are looking to make new friends, learn new things, and help out in whatever way we can!

  • Interessengebiete

    Natur
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Wandern
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Kunst & Design
    Schreiben
    Film & Fernsehen
    Musik
    Videoaufnahmen
    Technik
    Kochen & Backen
    Vegetarier / Veganer

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Karitative Arbeit
    Unterrichten

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Kester:

    Design & Video
    I have a bachelor's degree in Communication and Design, Arts, and Technology. Since graduating, I have designed websites and branding for a number of businesses, non-profits and Workaway hosts. I am also proficient at videography and editing and have put together promotional videos for some of these companies, as well as personal projects for my YouTube channel. I'm fairly good with a computer and happy to help with anything related to technology.

    Groundskeeping & Maintenance
    I also have experience in many areas of groundskeeping and maintenance. In 2013 I worked on a groundskeeping team at a university, where I learned the basics of landscaping and operating machinery and power tools. Later, I worked on the volunteer maintenance team for a residential community in Scotland, where I also learned basic plumbing and repairs, as well as more groundskeeping. In various Workaways, I have helped with carpentry and assorted building projects, such as building a fence.

    Hospitality & Leadership
    While in Scotland, I lived as part of an intentional community that works for peace, social justice and rebuilding community. As a volunteer, I was responsible for helping provide hospitality to guests from all over the world. Alongside guests and volunteers, I did chores, participated in events, and was even the drummer for the community's cèilidh band. I have also worked in several hotels on the hospitality team.

    Volunteer Work & Teaching
    During my two months in Nicaragua, I studied Spanish for four hours a day and did a variety of volunteer work for the rest of the day. This included working at a daycare (where I played kickball, helped with crafts, and taught basic English), helping to construct a bakery with a group of local women, planting trees, taking care of animals, doing basic maintenance and groundskeeping for the Spanish school, and teaching more advanced English to high school-aged students.

    Wine
    I spent year working in a wine store and studying wine, and while I was in France and Spain doing Workaways in 2019 I was able to visit some amazing wineries and learn more about growing and production.

    Annalaura:

    Vegan Cooking
    I transitioned to a vegan lifestyle ten years ago and in those ten years I've learned a ton about vegan cooking! I particularly enjoy trying out different recipes from different parts of the world. I've taken some cooking classes online and I cook for my family/partner regularly. I also worked at a cafe for two years where we specialized in vegan fare!

    Childcare
    Over the last two years I've spent a lot of time doing childcare! I often babysat during our time at the vegan bed and breakfast in Spain. More recently I babysat regularly for a family during the pandemic. I had a great time with the two kids! When I wasn't assisting with their online-schooling, we loved taking walks around the farm, doing arts & craft projects, and playing games outside!

    Writing & Communication
    I spent most of my youth writing stories and that childhood passion has continued into my adulthood! My college degree required writing a lot of essays and research papers. Additionally, I've spent time post-grad doing copywriting for a hospital and the cafe where I worked. My experience at the cafe required working directly with customers. Thanks to all of these experiences, I feel am a strong written and oral communicator.

    Gardening
    While I'm not a pro, I learned a lot about gardening in my year of travel and our more recent year working on the farm. I am familiar with basic tools and generally love spending time outside amongst plants! :) I have spent most of this last year pulling weeds out of extremely overgrown flower beds and planting some new plants! Additionally, I've helped out quite a bit with my mother's fruit and vegetable garden--planting, weeding, tending, and even building a small fence around it!

    Animal Care
    I grew up in a house with a lot of pets, so I feel very comfortable and familiar around animals of all types! Most of all I love spending time with animals and I care so much about their comfort, health, and general wellbeing. I spent a lot of time petsitting in high school, and we spent more time doing that during our travels last year. I have experience with special needs animals, administering medicine (injections and orally), elderly animals, and particularly sensitive animals.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    27 & 28

  • Nationalität

    American

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegan

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback