Linda

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Frankreich

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    15.08.2020 - 30.10.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Beschreibung

    Energetic and Excellent Help with Home and Garden, as well as Guests and Events

    Perhaps it was the result of a single startling line in the family history that revealed a long forgotten French grandmother, but my love for France has led me to return innumerable times, and always with wonderfully diverse experiences.

    Several years ago I began looking for volunteer opportunities to find ways of giving back to such lovely people who have been extraordinarily kind and gracious to me in my travels. I first volunteered for an international project designed to restore an ancient stone village in the Provence region of France. Working with this highly diverse team from all parts of the world was extremely fulfilling since it meant that the elderly inhabitants of this crumbling village would no longer have to leave the homes they had lived in and loved for so long.

    After that wonderful first volunteer experience, I discovered the amazing number of rich cultural exchange opportunities through Workaway, and in 2019, I spent seven weeks in France volunteering at two chateaux and also at a historical country farmhouse. I had such a joyful time assisting my lovely hosts with such a variety of interesting tasks. I helped to take care of many wonderful guests, including shopping for meals, assisting with cooking, setting tables, making flower arrangements, as well as helping with housekeeping and the care of guest rooms. In addition, I loved being given the opportunity to assist with work in a variety of gardens, from roses in formal allees, to kitchen potagers, and anything else that needed to be done, from pruning to gathering wood into the barns for winter, to putting the finishing touches on the restoration of an old Peter Rabbit wheelbarrow. With my love for animals, it was also such a delight to help care for the pet hens, roosters and peacocks.......(and quite the unique experience on occasion to be wielding a beach umbrella chasing a very ornery pet ram intent on devouring the boxwoods!). As my reviews of these experiences on the Workaway site reflect, every day was different, but each was an absolute pleasure.

    As a volunteer, I genuinely enjoy making a positive contribution to the care of homes and gardens, especially ones of historical significance, and also to the quality of the lifestyle of the owners and guests. I embrace the concept of "living as an art form," and believe that all tasks, when done well and with great care, can significantly enhance a gracious and warmly inviting lifestyle. I approach my commitments seriously and with integrity and discretion. However, I am a very sociable and joyful person with a very playful sense of humor. I maintain a very high level of strength and stamina through exercise, but also try to keep centered and energized through yoga and meditation.

    I am excited to begin my second year as a Workaway volunteer, with the delightful prospect of making new friends through this venue for wonderful cultural exchange, and exploring further opportunities for true life enrichment.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Hospitality, Housekeeping, Cooking Assistance, Gardening, Animal Care

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Alter

    75

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Poison Oak and Ivy

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Fotos

Feedback