Maureen

aus: Kanada

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexiko, Nicaragua

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    20.02.2019 - 15.08.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Super Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    Hi there! I’m Maureen. You can call me Mo ☺️

    Travel has been a passion of mine for as long as I can remember.

    I strive to explore this world in a way that is responsible, ethical and beneficial to others, and love to engage with different cultures and ways of life. With an appreciation for slow travel, I have been on the road for most of the past 7 years, and have backpacked solo through 36 countries.

    I love the concept of Workaway, and I can't wait to get my hands dirty! In my opinion, travel is so much better when you can offer a hand, and experience a place the way a local might. I am hoping the adventures I have as a member of Workaway will challenge me in ways that extend my known boundaries, enrich my life and help me grow as an individual, learning all that I can about the lives, cultures, hardships, and joys of the various people, families and/or businesses I would be so lucky to give my time to. I can’t wait to share and develop my skills with you.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Photography/Photo editing/Video editing
    Writing/Journalism
    Fashion Design/Sewing
    Art/Illustration
    Customer service
    General painting/Decorating/Maintenance
    Housekeeping
    Personal Assisting/Organization
    Healthy cooking
    Guitar/Ukulele

    I have a broad art and design background, and have postsecondary education in Photojournalism, and have taken some courses in Fashion Design (including textiles, design, fashion illustration, patternmaking, fashion business, costume history and sewing), all from an environmentally and socially responsible point of view. I am hoping to go back to school in the future to pursue environmental studies and international development.

    I have experience in customer service as a coffee shop manager, barista, hostel worker, hostess, waitress, retail salesperson, personal assistant and eco-friendly housekeeping services.

    I also have experience doing set design, styling and photography for a fair trade home décor/jewelry/accessories company, creating an art program for disadvantaged children, working on an organic farm, teaching monks English at a meditation center, and patient care/washing/massage at a volunteer-run hospital at a refuge center.

    I have considerable knowledge of healthy eating and I try to work that into my life, wherever/whatever I may be doing! I know a lot about health issues and how to heal the body through proper nutrition.

    I enjoy cooking simple meals, and can cook in many different styles, including: raw, vegan, vegetarian, paleo, keto, traditional whole food, Ayurvedic, ethnic, as well as various healing protocols. I love to teach others what I know about living and eating healthfully, as it is so important to our well-being.

    Most importantly, I am gracious, curious, and enjoy a good challenge. I am eager to learn and persevere! As an ethically-minded individual, I am optimistic and passionate about making a difference and learning all I can to achieve something wonderful.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Alter

    28

  • Nationalität

    Canadian

  • Was noch ...

    I am super friendly, and I enjoy meeting people of all shapes, sizes, colours, and backgrounds! I am passionate about world cultures (and their preservation), craft, history, anthropology, music, art, human rights, feminism, and the environment. I LOVE animals, and have a special place in my heart for all creatures big and small.

    I eat a healthy, whole food-based diet, based heavily around fresh fruits and vegetables. I do eat meat, but was vegan for 12 years and can easily do without.

    I’m very independent and happy to explore solo, so there is no worry about needing to take care of me during my stay (of course, advice/company is always welcome!). I don’t mind being left to entertain myself, especially if it gives me time to work on my illustrations (watercolour and ink), plan new adventures, or edit my photos.

    I would like to note that I volunteer with Workaway to learn and do work I’m passionate about, to help and serve others, and to deeply enrich my life through an incredible experience in another part of the world. I’m not simply looking for a place to stay! The volunteer work is important to me and I’m not afraid of hard work.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Corn/wheat sensitive

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Yes

Fotos

Feedback