Paul

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Großbritannien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.08.2020 - 02.10.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hello there workaway community! Returning after a couple of years away...Anyway, I'm Paul, London-based, but Sheffield raised, looking for opportunities in the countrysides of the United Kingdom to learn a little about farming, food and other things.

    My day job is as a writer of sorts and I have the upper body strength to match that status. However, what I lack in that department (a lot) I'd like to think I make up for in enthusiasm (also a lot). Last time I workawayed was in 2016 at a couple of places in Italy. In one instance I was helping to rebuild a section of an ancient farm building and maintain a small plot of organic veggies on a farm run by two lovely philosophers in the Ragussa region. The other was spent on a B&B with a small holding just north of the Prosecco region, where I spent much of my time trying to contain some very friendly and very bouncy goats, feed, clean and de-flea a small coop of chickens, thrash away at some thorns to clear a plot of land, help out with cooking, and entertain a lively dog and curious six year old. Both were great fun and came after a summer of working in restaurant kitchens in Malta *trying* to learn a thing or two mediterranean cooking.

    In addition to workaway, I've solo travelled a fair amount, mostly in Europe and East & Southern Africa, for up to a year at a time, and worked abroad a little in the last few years too (Malta, Spain, Kenya). I mention this not to humble brag about my own good fortune, but just because I think all together these things have taught me to be sensitive of open to the people I stay with, and flexible

    So, whilst I'd be hesitant to present myself as coming fully equipped with oodles of skills as a result of these experiences, I hope they give a bit of an idea of a willingness to get stuck in and learn as I go. I'd like to think I'm easy going and sociable (but don't we all...) and certainly I found getting to know my hosts and their communities as enjoyable as any other aspect of workaway-ing.

    I'll leave it there for now, but hope to chat more to some of you soon!

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich: 

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden 

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I'm a writer by trade and a good cook (or so I'm told). Biggest skill is my enthusiasm and willingness to work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Alter

    33

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Was noch ...

    I recently bought a bike and would be happy to bring that along for running errands and general exploring. I love running/hiking/camping usually, although I got a bash on my leg this year that means I can quite chew up the paths as I'd like to at the minute.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Prefer not to eat meat if possible

Feedback