Patricia & Joe

  • Irland
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    zu Hause

    Unser nächstes Reiseziel:

    France
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Phase 3 of our lives and ready for adventure :-)
    We are Patricia and Joe from Ireland and are looking for our first Workaway location
    Joe and I met almost ten years ago, he was recently retired. I retired last year.
    We have always talked about splitting our time between home and travelling when I retired and now it seems like the perfect time to pack the bags for the winter months and head off on our adventures. We would like to go to a warm country first so our dream is to spend a few months in the south of France.
    One of the main pleasures of traveling for us is meeting other people, chatting and learning about their cultures and being exposed to differing world views. In our younger years both of us lived outside of Ireland. Me in France, where I met my late husband and taught English for a year.
    Joe spent most of his life in the UK initially working as an aircraft engineer with two years in Germany working on the ELDO rocket project. Returning to the UK he joined BOAC.
    When the aircraft industry began to contract he joined a company specialising in irrigation, where his knowledge of aluminium was useful in specifying and testing pipework for major farming projects in Cuba, Nigeria and Libya and later became logistics manager for a pump
    manufacturer supplying the paper manufacturing industry, serving companies throughout Europe.
    The whole concept of Workaway appeals to us as the community seems vibrant and very much on our joint wave length. We are both dedicated life-long learners committing ourselves to new ideas and projects.
    I speak French fluently and both of us love French culture, cuisine and climate! We go as often as we can to the south of France, either Nice or Marseille and ideally would find a host family whom we could help in or near Provence Cote d’Azur.

    We both like working out of doors , Joe in particular would appreciate working outside.
    We would, if at all possible, prefer self-contained accommodation but it is simply a preference.

  • Interessengebiete

    Natur
    Yoga / Wellness
    Wandern
    Gartenarbeiten
    Kochen & Backen
    Kultur
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Skills:
    We are mature and responsible and can work methodically and harmoniously — together or separately. Having had a number of homes over the years we are well used to house and garden maintenance and enjoy gardening and general DIY. Our gardening skills are ‘home grown’ but adequate within a residential setting — we can certainly spot the difference between an unwanted weed and a precious plant! Neither of us is afraid of applying ourselves to the job in hand and we take great pleasure in sitting back, cup of tea in hand, (possibly with a chilled glass of rosé in France !) at the end of the day surveying our completed tasks.

    Joe brings an engineering mind and eye to tasks and repairs. He has more experience of animals, including dogs and horses, than I have but I am a willing student.Joe has house minded for a number families and their animals over recent years.

    I worked in education and in tourism for many years and have also worked of a self-employment capacity as a group facilitator and as a complimentary health therapist. I will happily work at creating/recreating balance and beauty in your garden — and that includes weeding!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    66 & 77

  • Was noch ...

    Our interests.
    We are a very active couple whose diary is filled with an enjoyable range of activities — meeting friends, going to music sessions and concerts, cinema and theatre and walking. Our best times include heading off for the day to the hills around Dublin or taking restorative breaks in the beauty of the Wild Atlantic Way where we walk and talk and hopefully find a nice spot for lunch after a couple of hours trekking. We are ‘people people’ i.e. we enjoy meeting people. During the summer months we run a niche tourist-based business that showcases our beautiful country and culture for Free Independent Travellers ie small groups of family and friends. We spend time getting to know our clients by email before they arrive so that we can tailor-make their itineraries. We have met some wonderful people and take great pleasure in knowing that we helped to create a memorable vacation for them.
    We promise you reliability and respect for you and your property,

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Feedback

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback