Kylie

  • USA
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (1)

Explorer

Freunde (1)

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Hawaii, United States - von Apr 2021 bis Apr 2023
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Aloha! My name is Kylie Hamakawa and I came to the Big Island from Chicago, roughly a year ago, in order to learn more about agriculture, deepen my relationship with the world around me, and develop a greater connection to my ancestral roots. With that, I have lived on a couple of farms here on the east side of the island, though I am currently just living in an apartment in town. However, my lease is up at the end of May and I am hoping to return to the land and continue my exploration of the aina. That said, I am obviously not the typical workawayer in that I'm on this island for the long haul and I do have some relatives and a part-time job in Hilo. Still, I am looking to make connections with people and the land on this island in a deeper and more meaningful way and I have found that being able to exchange my services for shelter, experience, and knowledge through workaway has been a wonderful way of doing so. At this point in time, I am simply hungry to learn as much as I can and I am open to whatever that experience might look like and so for any hosts that are looking for a possibly more long-term volunteer, I believe I have a lot to offer! I am an incredibly hard worker and already have a lot of knowledge of the different types of plants, animals, etc on the island. In addition, I have a lot of interest in architecture and carpentry and have been a part of a couple of different flooring (tiling and vinyl) projects- though I still have a lot that I must learn in this domain before I would really call it one of my personal skills. In addition, I believe I have a unique cultural perspective on this island, having lots of family members that were all born and raised in Hilo, going back many generations. This is something I love to share with people who come to Hawaii, especially those who have not been here for so long whether that be hosts themselves or other workawayers.

    Just a bit more about me, I really love to sing, dance, play instruments, write, cook, craft, garden, hike, practice yoga and conversate. I love people and getting to hear about all sorts of different perspectives. Still, I am a very independent person and it is important to me that I have time to focus on my personal and spiritual development. That said, realistically I can only really offer around 15-20 hours/week of work for any type of work-trade arrangement.

  • Interessengebiete

    Natur
    Yoga / Wellness
    Tanzen
    Wandern
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Tischlerarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Kunst & Design
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Schreiben
    Bücher
    Musik
    Kochen & Backen
    Kultur
    Geschichte
    Selbstentwicklung

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    To be quite candid I am looking for a farm stay work exchange because I don’t actually have very much experience with growing and therefore don’t really have any practical skills in that department yet. HOWEVER I am an extremely hard worker and quick learner! I have been an athlete all my life so I am extremely used to pushing myself physically as well as mentally. In addition I have also worked a lot with young children so I know what it takes to put a lot of heart and care into looking after and trying to facilitate the health and growth of other living beings ! I find another invaluable skill of mine is my open minded attitude. I have lot of interests and my curiosity and desire to learn seems never ending. Finally I think my biggest strength at this point is my passion and utter determination to build the skills I’m looking for and more. I am dedicated to finding meaning in really any work that I do so long as it’s with my hands and in some way connecting me to the natural world.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Alter

    24

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback