Laura & Jelmer

  • Kanada
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (1)

Good Workawayer

Profilangaben

  • Unser Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi! My name is Laura. I am most alive outside- particularly in the mountains hiking, exploring the backcountry, enjoying new recipes to bring on the trail, scrambling up heights that scare my husband and Mom, or maintaining my x-country ski addiction. Although the mountains and new adventures bring me a soul-fulfilling-kind-of- happiness, my 1.5-year-old adopted husky pup's way of approaching the same path with no less enthusiasm reminds me there is real joy and much to be learned in living consciously everyday.

    When not outside, I enjoy the creativity of trying new recipes, introducing my husband to new spices and the hospitality of inviting as many people to join around the table, believing "the more the merrier." I love to sing and the voices of dear friends that make up the a cappella group I sing with that I would be flattered to hear compared to anything from Pitch Perfect.

    I love being and working with people, and part of new opportunities for growth, connection and building community.

    Hi! My name is Jelmer- said like "Elmer Fudd" with a "Y." When I started my yearly travels to Canada as a teen, most people simply called me "Jelly." I am your classic Dutch man- lover of good coffee, honest and open, known to eat through bags of black licorice in a sitting and most recently creator of the Dutch stroopwafel which I enjoy sharing with different cultures in the high Arctic new to Dutch baking. Dutch in heritage, and Canadian at heart, I immigrated to Canada in 2019 and have enjoyed since the chance to explore the wild spaces that first captured me about this place.

    I love to help people, and have known I would be a paramedic from the age of 10. I've worked in EMS as soon as I could enter the field, and have been interested in tourism since spending a year in Canada working for different tour groups on Vancouver Island. I love hearing peoples travel stories, getting them on their next adventure and have a high standard and value for customer service.

    I love to hike, but not the kind of crazy climbing that Laura so strangely loves. Since living up North, I've had fun exploring foraging and experimenting with what I find in the land to create my own birch syrup, cookies and spruce-flavoured anything. I love DIY-projects, gardening, building, designing, constructing and a good cappuccino when it's break time.

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Natur
    Camping
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wassersport
    Wintersport
    Fitness
    Radfahren
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Kunst & Design
    Darstellende Künste
    Zeichnen & Malen

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Laura: If I'm anything like a cat that gets nine lives, I'm currently on my fourth. I started my working journey in visual art and music, specializing on print making, drawing and painting. I have my degree in music and play piano, clarinet as well as sing. I often wish life could exist as a musical and have enjoyed the different shows I've been able to both perform in and play pit band for. I travelled across the US for three years directing a children's choir from Uganda before going into social work. With my Masters in Social Work, the majority of my work has been in supporting grieving families, specifically working with children and teens. Most recently I moved North to experience a different part of our country, learn from and support Indigenous peoples in under-resourced areas of our privileged Nation and pursue my own interests in environmentalism and passion for the land.

    In my next life, I co-run a bed and breakfast with Jelmer where I can put my love of cooking and hospitality into practice while also working to support others in developing their relationship with the land so we can be better stewards to the places we live and adventure in.

    Jelmer: Less "cat-like" in this way than Laura, I've spent the majority of my career in EMS before discovering a whole other set of interests and skills when I moved to Canada and couldn't work in my field. From then onwards, I re-discovered a passion for working with people in the tourism industry through RV work at the time and have maintained working to translate different travel-related documents over the years. In addition to Dutch, I can also speak German and French. I love design and constructing- anything from small home decor items to constructing off-grid cabins. I am affectionately known as the "cookie boy" in Inuvik, as I love to bake and sell Dutch treats at our local summer Arctic market. From living off-grid with Laura in Yellowknife, I can get around by motor boat or canoe and troubleshoot my way through fixing different systems.

    When I get the chance to run a bed and breakfast with Laura, I see it as a chance to put into practice my high regard for quality customer service and be part of creating new adventures for people from all over the world.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Jelmer: Speaking my language helps me stay connected to my roots. I'm happy to speak different languages and translate as needed!

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    35 & 41

  • Was noch ...

    When we first looked to move to Northern Canada we had applied to co-manage a backcountry lodge together outside of Yellowknife. Unfortunately, the pandemic halted our hopes, and although we continued to pursue the Northern adventure through different means, the dream to host together and further explore the North has never left us. We hope to be able to find a place to pursue our shared passions for high levels of customer service, hospitality and outdoor adventure through workaway.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      I have asthma and am particularly sensitive to smoke

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Feedback

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback