Richie

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Portugal

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.05.2020 - 24.06.2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    720

  • Abzeichen

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    I'm Richie and I love music, travel, learning, meeting people, stories, fun, socialising and THE SUN! I've been here in Portgual since February (before the virus crisis really took hold) and have been blessed to have had two amazing WorkAway experiences so far. My first was with a lovely couple from Cambridge and I helped them for one week (too short) to get their "no-dig" vegetable garden started. After that I had many places organised to visit for two weeks each.. but the lockdown started and I ended up spending NINE WEEKS with Kes and Rick on their quinta near Fundão! It was amazing and I've done and learnt so much about hot composting, more no-dig experience, forest clearance, and renovation construction work. Since then I helped Igal in Vila Nova de Cerviera to renovate his artist residency, and am now near Terras de Bouro with Tracey and Tonie helping them with all sorts of house and garden projects (including building a hen house!) I'm now ready to move on to my next experience and I have a lot of energy, strength and enthusiasm to bring!

    I moved to Lucca, Italia in 2017 because I have always been drawn towards the rustic countryside of Tuscana. In Lucca I was teaching music in a private bilingual primary school as well as English in two language high schools there. It was a fantastic experience but I needed a new challenge. I came to Italy to really immerse myself in the language, food, culture, and - of course - the people. I didn't really get that opportunity in Lucca because I had to always speak English. I am now learning Spanish and Portuguese. I have a great passion for learning and my main goal wherever I go is to really jump into a new life and work hard at it. I've been volunteering through WorkAway now since March 2018 and it has been absolutely fantastic. I've definitely made some amazing connections with like-minded people and found the opportunities for integration I was after. I'd love that to continue! I've made many friends for life through this amazing tool for connection and sharing!

    I have lots of experience of hard work in construction and landscaping (construction and large scale land maintenance). However, my past experiences as a teacher in a special school for adolescents with special educational needs and autism, along with my roles, could be really beneficial to families who would like to improve their English language or music skills. I have lots of experience in teaching music and language in a fun and informal way. I love helping others. I love nature and I fell in love with Kent, UK when I came to Canterbury in 2011. I am used to the quiet life in the country but I am also used to being busy and working hard. I am very passionate about the environment and helping others, and one day hope to build a sustainable home where I can teach people skills and learn from them.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I am a musician (drums, guitar, vocals) and a teacher (music, English). I spent two years I have been teaching in a special school in Kent, England for autistic adolescents with various learning difficulties. Through music and communication I helped them with their social skills, numeracy and literacy. It was a fantastic experience. Before that I worked many different jobs in construction (in Melbourne, Australia for two years), retail (sales and store room management) and hospitality (restaurant work and a host at a renowned hostel in Canterbury, Kent). I have been doing various projects through WorkAway such as bio construction, organic farming, landscape gardening and I can help with any general maintenance task, with tourists, with cleaning and preparing rooms, and with any outdoor gardening or farm work. I also have full TEFL accreditation.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Italian: Fließend

  • Alter

    31

  • Nationalität

    Irish

  • Was noch ...

    I have a degree in Music and Health Studies and my goal is to start my own community/retreat where people can bring and receive skills of all kinds and live sustainably. I am from the Republic of Ireland but I have travelled extensively around Europe and Australia. Last year I drove from Ireland to Istanbul in three amazing months with a good friend, stopping off in Germany, Italy and then all along the Balkans and finally in turkey via Greece. I lived in England for 6 years where I have completed my degree and gained a lot of experience in a number of different roles. I am looking forward to my next chapter here in Portugal and I would be delighted to help and share in any way I can.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

Animal whispering after a good day's gardening in Oliveira do Hospital :D
Dog sitting this amazing Hungarian vizsla, Jupiter, down in Cork, Ireland
Collecting hay for horses in Póvoa Palhaça
Mixing sand, clay and straw (cob) barefoot for an outdoor sculpture
Applying the cob around tire and wire base for the legs
Sculpting in the woods in Chiozza
Bookshop in Lucca - with hair!
Last gig in England

Feedback