Stephen

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Belgien, Brasilien, Chile, Costa Rica, Deutschland, Ecuador, Großbritannien, Guatemala, Italien, Kolumbien, Kuba, Mexiko, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Spanien, USA, Ungarn, Vatican City State (Holy See), Venezuela

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    08.05.2017 - 08.11.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer

  • Beschreibung

    Hi,

    I'd just like to start by saying thank you for looking at my profile as well as a special thanks to the people of Workaway for creating this wonderful platform, providing us with an opportunity to meet and making the world a little bit smaller (and perhaps a little bit better too) - I only wish that I had discovered it sooner!

    My name is Stephen, I’m 33 (but still 21 at heart), originally from South Africa and currently living just outside London. I love animals, nature and exploring the outdoors - from snow-capped mountains to sandy beaches and everything in between. I’m also quite keen on photography, technology and the digital world but can quite easily and happily go "off-grid". I've travelled to, lived and worked in many places including Canada, Europe & Southern Africa and thoroughly enjoyed almost every minute of it. I appreciate diversity, meeting interesting people and attempting new and unfamiliar things. I’ve worked in a multitude of contrasting jobs and have managed to pick up a few skills along the way - from producing magazines in the city of London to building schools in rural South Africa, my work history is varied to say the least. I’ve been very fortunate with the wide range of opportunities that have been available to me and the amazing people that I’ve met along the way. I’d be more than happy to put some of the knowledge and experience I’ve gained to use for you. Then again, I’d be just as happy trying my hand at something completely new. I work hard, learn fast and never shy away from a challenge.

    I’m in good shape, exercise regularly and like to keep active. I don’t have any medical conditions, injuries or allergies but I do have good travel insurance just in case. I eat just about everything and have no problem with any dietary restrictions you may follow, I also quite like cooking and welcome the opportunity to learn how to make something new.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I guess you could say that I’m a bit of a “jack of all trades”. I’ve got a few certifications but a lot of my knowledge just comes from practical experience.

    Let’s start with my official qualifications:
    • Life Guard
    • Emergency First Aid
    • Mountain Survival Guide
    • Deep Tissue Massage Therapy
    • Bachelor’s Degree - Business Management

    Now for the unqualified stuff:
    • Retail Sales Assistance
    • General Manual Labour
    • Landscaping & Tree Felling
    • Computing - Windows & MS Office
    • Photography, Graphic & Web Design
    • Catering and Hospitality - bartender, junior chef, reservations, client services and management
    • Construction & Building Maintenance - painting, tiling, bricklaying, basic electrical and plumbing plus some
    carpentry (afraid that I can't plaster though)
    • Farming - crops, haven’t farmed livestock before but I have spent several months working in various animal
    shelters & sanctuaries so I’m quite familiar with general animal care

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Afrikaans (similar to Flemish), Spanish - learning

  • Alter

    35

  • Nationalität

    South African / British

  • Was noch ...

    I started my journey of exploration and discovery in Europe and thus far have travelled to France, Belgium, Holland, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Spain and Morocco. I am now back in the UK for a while and looking to take advantage of some of the wonderful opportunities the beautiful British Isles has to offer. Thereafter, I want to gradually make my way across The Americas. Starting out in the north and slowly making my way through central and into the south until eventually reaching Chile. Bouncing between various Workaway, English teaching and charity volunteer projects as I go - no set time frames or even routes as yet just a desire to witness and experience as much as I can. After that, my goal is to hopefully get a job with MSF (Médecins Sans Frontières / Doctors Without Borders) in a support role as an “All-round Logistician”, which is basically their version of a “jack of all trades”.

    Thanks again for reading my profile and I look forward to meeting you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

Some feathered friends on a beach near Cape Town, South Africa
Helping a friend build a boat, I'm no "master carpenter" though - just an experienced amateur!
Dune boarding near the Namibian border
Visiting a game reserve during a day off from building a rural school in South Africa
Volunteer work - building a school
Growing my "green thumb" at a community self sustainability project in Africa
This is Charlie (the cheeky little capuchin monkey) at an animal sanctuary I volunteered with in South Africa
Just waiting for that wave.... North Shore, Gran Canaria.
Sharing a lovely Thai green curry that I had just prepared for guests & fellow volunteers at our Surf House
Visiting a botanical garden with some fellow volunteers
Whilst I was busy repairing and painting some old furniture, my friend thought that I needed a fresh coat of paint too!
Sunrise stroll - a perfect way to start the day
Just finished working on some custom-made bunk beds & an indoor swing.
Working with beautiful Arabian horses on a stud farm

Feedback