We are a retired couple living on 6 acres of lush countryside in Victoria, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 9 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.03.2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a retired couple living on 6 acres of lush countryside in East Trentham, in central Victoria, just one hour's drive out of Melbourne and about an hour from Bendigo and Ballarat, two of Victoria's major regional centres. We enjoy a cool climate with good annual rainfall and excellent soils for growing. The surrounding farms graze sheep and cattle and have a long tradition of potato growing. It remains a farming community but has a growing number of "tree-changers" escaping the hustle and bustle of city life; young families looking for a more affordable and better quality of life. The area is becoming more and more popular with visitors from the city and interstate visitors due to its close proximity to Melbourne and the delightful range of Australian country attractions - including wineries, galleries, artisan wares and country pubs offering great food, wine, and warm, cosy atmosphere. The local area is renowned for high quality farm produce and excellent restaurants and cafes making splendid use of locally sourced ingredients.
    Our home is a traditionally styled Australian homestead (although only 15 years old) set in 2 acres of gardens and a couple of paddocks. Our only animals nowadays are chooks just to keep the supply of fresh farm eggs going for the breakfast table. Our garden has been our major project since moving here 10 years ago and we love it, but as we get older the work involved is becoming more difficult. The garden was designed by award-winning landscape designer Mel Ogden (see melogdenlandscapes.com ) with considerable input from Simon Rickard, renowned plantsman and international botanical tour guide (see simonrickard.com). The garden's highlights include extensive hedging with feature topiary, large boulders, perennial borders, a crabapple walk and a secluded "Zen" garden room plus a vegetable plot.
    We are looking for assistance with a range of house and garden maintenance work including weeding, spreading mulch, clearing up fallen branches to load onto our burn pile and with picking up and carrying tree clippings and cuttings to appropriate spots on the property. We have a ride-on mower with trailer to help with all this plus a whippersnipper, mower and other garden tools for Workawayers to use. We also have a few house maintenance tasks such as oiling the wooden decking on our verandahs before winter sets in.
    Workawayers will have the use of our 2 spare bedrooms, each with their own private entrance via french doors to a verandah overlooking our perennial garden beds. Our rooms can accommodate up to 4 people and have some flexibility in bed configuration. One room has a queen sized bed while the other has a king sized bed which could be split into 2 singles, if preferred. These rooms have been set up for guests (we used to run a B&B here until recently) and include a small fridge, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes, towels, small table and chairs, and heating, of course. These rooms share a large bathroom with walk-in shower, rolltop bath and separate toilet. We enjoyed running the B&B, including our guests coming via bnb website - we were proud to have earned bnb's "Superhost" badge 10 times in a row. We loved meeting guests from all over and varied walks of life and we look forward to meeting and hosting Workawayers too!
    Workawayers with their own car would have greater autonomy to explore the delights of central Victoria but we are also happy to offer some transport assistance to make sure you get to enjoy your stay in our beautiful region. Trains run between Bendigo and Melbourne with stops in Kyneton and Woodend, both approximately 20 minutes drive from our place. We are five minutes from the attractive country town of Trentham and 30 minutes from Daylesford with its famous mineral springs, eateries, galleries and more.
    Our local pub, the Pig and Whistle, offers great country hospitality and high quality meals, and is just 4 kms up the road.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a beautiful part of Australia, one hour from the culturally rich city of Melbourne. Travellers will meet locals, enjoy the coffee shops and art galleries of Trentham and beyond. Despite its close proximity to Melbourne, the Trentham district will give travellers a real taste of authentic Australian country life. The local community here is warm and welcoming and we would be delighted to introduce travellers to life in a typical Aussie country town, albeit one that has attracted a wide range of creative people.
    We speak only English but are educated and have travelled; we enjoy meeting new people, young or not so young. We love children so a family would be welcome.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our garden is extensive and needs work, weeding, mulching, cutting back. We can provide advice on what's required but anyone with some gardening knowledge would be very helpful. We are currently painting the outside of our house and could do with some help. Some maintenance/repair jobs could be involved so, again, painting or carpentry skills would be an asset but are not essential.
    Before winter sets in will be the best time so March or April are probably best for us.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    B&B style, within our home.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    A bus runs from Daylesford to Woodend and Kyneton via Trentham 3 times a day. Trains run from Kyneton and Woodend to either Bendigo or Melbourne. We are in a rural location so a car would provide flexibility, though we can provide some daytime assistance.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 982527219718