Enjoy this small piece of farmland and help us slowly develop it into a retreat center on the southeast coast of Taiwan

Country

Taiwan

Bisher 219 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.11.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    393

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This is a small farm on the southeast coast of Taiwan near the town of Dulan in Taitung county. It is a beautiful piece of land perched in the hills overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Over time we intend to grow this plot into a center for healing and growth. In the future we will build a classroom for holding workshops, meditation retreats, yoga classes and other events. Currently it is two of us living on a semi-wild patch of land that has as much work to be done as there are workers willing to do it.

    We are permaculture oriented and intend to work primarily at a human scale rather than calling in machinery. We feel very strongly that how we live in relationship to the land is an important aspect of human well being.

    We have about 30 chickens, a fully organic vegetable garden, and a lot of land waiting for further attention. We are at the beginning of this project. We need help with both upkeep and with projects that will improve the site and make it into the kind of oasis that supports introspective healing work.

    Chiayu and Rob are both mental health counselors and mindfulness meditation practitioners. Professionally, in addition to private practice, we teach the Hakomi method of mindfulness-centered psychotherapy throughout Taiwan and in Hong Kong. We want to move our work here to this little piece of paradise and will need a lot of help as we make that happen.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Chiayu and Rob are a cross-cultural couple and our professional work combines Eastern meditative practices with the scientific approach of the West. We are joyful members of the community of creative people who have made this part of Taiwan their home. You will be living just outside the multicultural town of Dulan, which is populated by a mix of members of the Amis tribe, one of Taiwan's original cultures, Han Chinese, and Westerners who were drawn to the natural beauty of the East coast. Dulan is a magnet for creative types from musicians to painters, spiritual practitioners of various stripes, organic gardeners, and people who would generally live their lives at their own pace.

    While here, you will have plenty of time to learn. You will learn about permaculture approaches to working and living on the land, and if you have any interest, you can learn about mindfulness practices and what we mean by mindful living. You will also have ample opportunity to learn the little bit needed to care for chickens. You can join Rob as he learns more about working with bamboo. Chiayu is in charge of the vegetable garden and has plenty to pass on. Feel free to practice your Chinese. We can both help with that, especially Chiayu.

    Probably the greatest benefit of staying here is simply living amidst some of Taiwan's most tremendous natural beauty. This are is lush with life. Vistas are filled with mountains and the sea.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We will try to vary the tasks from day to day. On any given day there are always more weeds to be pulled than will be pulled. The chickens need daily care. Invasive trees need to be cut down and chipped into mulch. Bamboo for fencing and chicken coops needs to be cut, split, and assembled. The rainwater collection system is awaiting improvement. Things break and need to be fixed. The land needs to be slowly reshaped to calm the flow of storm water allowing more water to be absorbed into the earth rather than running off. Sooner or later everything needs a new coat of paint. Rocks need to be gathered for the pond and for landscaping. Walking paths are planned but are not yet in place. Other natural building projects are planned such as a workshop classroom, and small huts for retreat lodging.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Mandarin Chinese

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is spacious but truly rustic and simple. You will be staying in a two bedroom farmhouse across the street from our property. It is very basic but has everything you need for living a simple life. It is important to know that it is not air conditioned. At certain times of the year, this can be an issue for some people. There is a refrigerator, washing machine, small butane stove, and a electric rice cooker. Once you are off work, you will have your own private space and can live at your own rhythm. Please only smoke outside the house.

    The house is up a hill. We will provide you with a decent, multi-speed bicycle, but most people have to walk the bike back up the hill. Once at the foot of the hill, the road to and from town is is relatively flat with only gradual inclines whether you travel north or south along the coast.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We will ask for 3.5 hours of work per day, 5 days per week, and at least 2 weeks of stay. Depending on our schedule, and yours, we definitely intend to have you over for occasional lunches or dinner, but meals will often be on your own. Depending on the time of year, fresh eggs from our chickens, and various garden vegetables will be available as well. If we have it to harvest, you will have it to eat. Rice will also be provided as a staple.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3.5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A minfulness-based workshop in the farm.
Making compost
Roselle harvesting
Rob and Chiayu
Workawayers stay right across street from the farm in this house
Workawayer’s dwelling inside.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)














Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 963285886426