Help us to live sustainably and promote wildlife at our new cottage in Kirkmichael, Perthshire, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 58 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    82.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a young-ish (that's if you class early 40's as young!) married couple who have recently moved into a lovely cottage in a beautiful glen in Perthshire. We are full to bursting with plans and ideas but basically we have aspirations to become more self sufficient on our 4 acres of land as well as creating lots of wildlife friendly habitat too.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a beautiful area with lots of wildlife such as red squirrels, deer, birds of prey, foxes and lots of rabbits as frequent visitors to the garden. Hugh is a wildlife biologist and is very knowledgable about wildlfie in general. We will be learning how to do many of the things that we plan to do on our property, so we can learn together and have some fun doing it (hopefully we can also learn some things from our guests too!) We are happy to help people improve their English and/or learn about British culture.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would really like some help over the next year from fit,active people that are interested in living more sustainably and wanting to promote wildlife. We have plans to remove plastic liners from existing raised veg beds, building fruit cages, preparing some land to build a poly tunnel, moving and building fences, creating a wildlife pond, planting native trees, building an art studio...the list goes on!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse
    French: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two comfortable rooms available in our cottage dating from 1890. One with a double bed and the other with a single. There is a lovely shared bathroom that these two rooms will have exclusive use of. Meals will usually be eaten together in our open plan kitchen and we will provide three good, healthy meals a day. We do eat some meat but tend to eat more vegetarian food.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are friendly, sociable, active people that are interested in nature, travel and the great outdoors and we would like to welcome like-minded, enthusiastic people to our home. A sense of humour and an easy going attitude are important characteristics. We expect our guests to treat the house well, be clean & tidy and respectful. We both work from home and so will be unavailable at times during the week so our guests will need to be self reliant and able to live/work independently. You will also need to be fit and strong as a lot of the work will be quite physically demanding. We are also getting a puppy in a few weeks (very excited!) so people will need to be comfortable with dogs.

    There is lots to do in the local area during your time off especially if you like walking or mountain biking (we have bilkes available to borrow) as we have many trails accessible from the house. We are also lucky enough to have the River Ardle running through our property so trout fishing is possible in season. Perthshire is a stunning area known as 'Big Tree' country with many things to do such as hillwalking in the Cairngorms National Park (45 mins drive), skiing at Glenshee in the winter months (30 minutes), exploring the many forests and lochs, kayaking on the RIvers Tay and Tummel as well as enjoying fresh scottish produce in local resturants and pubs. We are within 5 minutes walking distance of the local village where there is a community shop and a pub. There are buses that run to the bigger towns throughout the day as well as up to Glenshee and the Cairngorms.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The River Ardle that runs alongside our property
The cottage
View from the house to the garden
Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 951812139625