Help me with DIY home projects and learn about fitness in Hamden, Connecticut, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 39 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    87.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello! I am a Quinnipiac medical student located in a suburb by Yale University. I was a long-term couch surfer and work-awayer! Ask me for my blog.

    I was hosted by a dozen properties across Europe and learned much from my time on the road. Now that I have my own home, I am looking to be a host this time. Projects are basic home improvement/maintenance, gardening, and data entry. I speak French fairly well (but it’s been many years) and am also looking to improve my Spanish.

    Why my house? I am a busy student very much in need of help with basic house stuff, improvements, gardening, cooking, etc. I live alone in my house, so there’s plenty of room and couples are welcome. While a medical school student, I also work remotely part time for a California fitness company as their Director of Fitness & Education. I am a personal trainer, have contributed to reasearch in how exercise helps alleviate drug addiction, and am passionate about lifestyle health. I eat a mostly plant based diet, and learned many recipes during my time on the road, doing work-exchanges for vegan kitchens and holistic healing organizations.

    My house is located in Hamden, Connecticut, which is a suburb of New Haven, where you can find the eminent Yale Univeristy campus. Additionally, Connecticut is conveniently located between Boston, Massachusetts and New York City, so if you want to hop away to either of those cities and come back to my house as a landing pad, you may. You will have lots of free time to do whatever you like in the surrounding area.

    Things I need:
    -HELP! With everything.
    -Lawn care, raking leaves, shoveling snow
    -Cooking
    -Cleaning (my god! I need help here.)
    -Painting
    -Sanding
    -Finding furniture for my house
    -Building garden beds, planting a garden, maybe hydroponics!
    -Creating a water catchment system
    -Composting
    -Finishing the basement
    -Picking out design concepts/upgrades for the house
    -Data entry
    -Maybe help studying medicine?

    1. How much time is expected and the details of the tasks I need help with:
    Totally depends on you and your abilities. 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, would make me very happy, if you are willing to do some cooking outside of that. Sometimes more work, sometimes less work; I'm more interested in getting PROJECTS COMPLETED, and not micromanaging how you spend your time. If you are an efficient person and know how to do 5 hours of work in 2, amazing! Please keep in mind, I don't have a lot of time to chaperone your contributions. I can explain a project, but please don't wait around for me to come home so we can do it together. The reason I need help is because I DON'T have a lot of time. I'm not going to tell you to do anything that you can't handle, but I like it when I see people take INITIATIVE. I'm blunt out this now because I manage 120+ individuals AND simultaneously attend medical school, so I am allergic to people who need to be TOLD what to do.

    2. How meals and food will happen:
    I eat a mostly vegan diet. I make food in large batches. We won't be sitting down to a cozy home-cooked meal every night together. Maybe some nights, but studying medicine will put a lot of time pressure on me. I don't mean to by anti-social, you understand! I'll make sure there is food to eat, and you can help yourself. If you want high-cost items like meat, cheese, and dairy, I'll be willing to purchase some, but these items I eat rarely and would not provide in large quantities.

    3. Internet/Phone rules
    There is WiFi at the house. We do not have a telephone land line. I have a mobile phone. You can use it if you need to make a domestic call, but these days everything can be done over the internet. I prefer it if you have a laptop, as I may have you to research things for me: e.g., "I need to find a bathtub in stock within this price range. Who delivers to the house?" You and your electronic devices are encouraged, as they are a great form of entertainment if you just want to live with me and chill and re-charge your travel batteries before your next big move. I understand that feeling!

    4. Public transport info:
    To get to New Haven, CT to see Yale University (it looks like Hogwarts!), there is a 7 minute walk to the bus stop, which will take you straight to the city center, which is very near the train station that can take you to New York City; and it is near the bus station, where you can catch a regional bus to Bostson, MA. I have a bicycle I can probably lend you (if you're tall enough!) to explore the area, but keep it locked, since campuses have high rates of bicycle theft! If you need me to give you a lift to/from the train/bus station, I'd be willing to do that as well.

    5. Things to see and do locally:
    Yale University is a pretty cool campus with art galleries, old libraries, statuary, green spaces, and a great culinary scene.

    6. Can I accommodate families/children/animals?
    Depends on the situation. I wouldn't have enough work to give you all. Couples are definitely welcome. Children and animals might be pretty distracting for me. But make me an offer!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I can teach you fitness and exercise, and plant-based nutrition. As far as culture is concerned: I am a politically-mixed American who has the perspective of having lived on both the East and West coast of the USA, traveled to 37 countries, and can explain many aspects of American life. It’s a big country. You will probably learn a little bit about entrepreneurship, problem solving, and basic construction.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Painting, sanding, landscaping, gardening, cooking. I live in a “fixer-upper” house with no end to the potential small projects.

    Things I need:
    -HELP! With everything.
    -Lawn care, raking leaves, shoveling snow
    -Cooking
    -Cleaning
    -Painting
    -Sanding
    -Finding furniture for my house
    -Building garden beds, planting a garden, maybe hydroponics!
    -Creating a water catchment system
    -Composting
    -Finishing the basement
    -Picking out design concepts/upgrades for the house
    -Data entry
    -Maybe help studying medicine?

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Swedish: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I speak French pretty well (I’m rusty) but struggle to understand spoken French and would like to improve. My Spanish needs a lot of work. I am excellent at helping others improve their English and have helped many do so.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    House. Private bedroom. Shared bathroom. Full kitchen. Live with me like you are my roommate. I will purchase the majority of the groceries, but eat almost exclusively plant-based. If you wish to eat meats, cheeses, etc., you may have to source that on your own. I can lend you my bicycle to get around town. If you drive a manual transmission, you might even borrow the car. *might*

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    New Haven is nearby, and there is a vibrant culinary scene there. It is also home to Yale University, one of America’s elite Ivy League universities, with museums, libraries, old churches, monuments, etc. Maybe watch a collegiate sporting event, or go clubbing (if they are open post-pandemic). There is hiking and biking around the area. It's beautiful in the autumn, and apple picking season is a thing. The trees are stunning as they turn colors and lose their leaves. It’s a quiet town life where I live.

    To the south, just a train-ride away, you can reach New York City.

    To the north, via a bus-ride, you can reach Boston, Massachusetts.

    You can work another job remotely. You can isolate yourself upstairs and binge on Netflix. You

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I will be very busy myself and so if you have another job or project to work in, do so! I am looking for someone to be like my “helper roommate” who can help me around the house, paint walls, create my garden, assist me with data entry, and help me study medicine! Yes, please live in my house but definitely have projects you enjoy to occupy your time as well. I won't have much time to entertain, but I can certainly give you access to entertainment.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 949454655355