Lend a hand with lots of odds and ends in the Beautiful Gatineau Hills of Val des Monts Quebec, Canada



Bisher 46 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    My husband Dwight and I have a 200+ acre property in Val des Monts Quebec, 30 minutes from Ottawa and 40 minutes from Ottawa International Airport (YOW) We are retired. The picture is from a party we had when I turned 60 and Dwight retired. It was an epic party!

    Our property has many trails, mostly forest, hills, a lake in front and
    back with a shallow creek connecting the two. A beautiful quiet property not far from the city of Ottawa, Ontario.

    We are both in our 60's and pretty easy going. Dwight is not able to do hard physical work due to health issues so an extra hand with things would be most appreciated.

    We would love to have someone to help out with stuff. If you are independent and can figure out or help us with what needs to be done that would be awesome, I just don't want Dwight doing all the grunt work if there is that to do. 4-5 hours a day would be great. We will have a list of things that is always changing. Some of the things for this year are. At our rental cabin, a tiny balcony and stairs going down to the deck, rustic steps up to the log sauna, flower and herb garden, rebuilding the solar system.

    We have trails to be maintained, firewood to be cut, lumber to be milled on the saw mill, walkway to be laid, shed to be built and another finished. If you know how to operate large machinery like an old excavator, pay loader, tractor that would be a bonus. Our personal gardens, stone fire pit for our personal maple syruping, building a dock and float, fixing a bridge, rebuilding another bridge.
    One day I hope to build a hobbit house rental into the hill but in the meantime its a dream. :)

    We live in the country and are about a 30 minute drive to most tourist areas. Being in the country and working on the property is very dependant on the weather. We are very flexible to working arrangements to suit our visitors and greatly appreciate any help while you have a beautiful place to stay and explore. You should be self motivated and responsible. We also have a vacation rental log cabin off the grid that needs work and maintenance between guests.

    We have a great view of the lake . You can head down to the dock which is in the marshy end of the lake where the wildlife abounds. Hop in a canoe or Kayak and paddle to the float for a swim or go fishing. There are also a couple of hammocks strung across the creek in the middle of the property. Every season is different.

    We have a 7 year old German shepherd named Arthur and a 1 year old long haired shepherd named Loki, a siamese cat named Simon and 6 laying hens we call "the girls" We are in the country with animals so if you have allergies this will not be the right fit for you.

    Im a great cook. A hand in the kitchen once in awhile would be appreciated. Dont be shy about cleaning up or doing dishes....that would impress us. If we are not around you can just help yourself in the kitchen like it is yours. There is a washer and dryer for you to use as well. The bedroom is private with a queen size bed, a bathroom right beside that has a shower.

    Always email me with all your info to see if we would be a good fit. The more info you provide in your introduction letter the better, so you don't get a "I don't think you will be a good fit" :)

    Starting out I would like to have someone for only a week or two, if its a good fit it could be longer. A great intro email would be awesome.

    A great article I found, A must read for workawayer volunteers! workawayblog.com/how-to-be-a-great-volunteer/

    So if you think you may be a good match lets chat.

    So workawayers, if there is room for 15 pictures you should put them up in all sorts of things you do. If you can write a lot about what you did and your skills it will help the hosts make a fast and good choice. We don't just let someone into our homes without getting a good sense of who you are. The more stuff the better for you!!!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Seeing our off the grid cabin rental property and how all the systems work there.

    Our home with gardens, view of lake and carefree living, camp fires, hot tub, outdoor sauna and shower. Living a quieter life, in the country and all that goes into it.

  • Arbeit


    Things that always need doing
    -trails whipped snipped and some mowed with ride on lawn mower
    -firewood split with splitter
    - weeding flower gardens and garden
    -general maintenance around the home.
    -clipping brush, clearing up the forest
    -building float
    -taking down an old deck
    -replacing boards on a floating raft
    -anyone with small machine or big machine skills, most welcome
    -your license is a must
    -if you can handle a chainsaw that would be awesome! A few trees need to be felled, blocked and split.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    We offer a bedroom with queen size bed in our home with your own 3 piece bathroom. There is also an outdoor shower, hot tub and wood fired sauna.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You can go fishing, hiking with the dogs or on your own, canoeing, swimming, seeing the sites in the area. We are 30 minutes from the city of Ottawa Ontario. You can hang out on our 200 plus acre property, or camp out as you wish. There are lots of places to visit so a car is a must.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 917212788368