Family in Vegan small holding looking for a helping hand! Scotland, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 131 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    209

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    75.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi
    We are a couple, in our early 60s, who bought our present house three years ago. We live three miles from the Royal Borough of Linlithgow, which is twenty minutes by train from Edinburgh. Our home is near the Firth of Forth, and close to the John Muir Way.


    We are both keen walkers, and have both walked the Camino de Santiago (Alan several times). We are interested in meditation and try to practise every day (fairly briefly). I do some yoga and am in a choir. Alan goes to French and Spanish classes. If helpers wanted to join in any of these, they can.

    We are hoping to develop our home, which has six acres of land, into a venue for glamping, meditation and yoga retreats, as well as increasing our organic vegetable garden's production to cater for visitors.

    This summer we are building a lean to extension on our barn, which will be a toilet and shower block for people who will be using our gypsy caravan for glamping holidays. We are also expanding our vegetable garden, and planning to build a wall around it. The third project for this year, is to lay a patio round our house. Volunteers with experience of building work would be extremely welcome. However, we also are happy to welcome volunteers who can weed, pick fruit, and vegetables, help with freezing, and also cooking, making bread, etc.


    Initially we would be looking for volunteers ( a single or a couple} who can stay for a week, and if mutually agreeable, this could be extended to two weeks. The accomodation in a caravan has a double bed, but we can add a single bed if necessary.

    We would welcome help during June and August. Not July.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Alan speaks French and Spanish, and I speak basic French. We are happy to assist with English language. Our area is of cultural and historic interest, as Blackness Castle (which fetures in Outlanders), is ten minutes walk away, and Linlithgow Palace, birthplace of Mary Queen of Scots, is three miles away. Edinburgh and Stirling with their castles and other historic buildings are within easy distance by train or car. We are also near the Forth Bridge, which takes you to Fife, Perth and the Highlands.
    We have a community bus which goes in and out, of Edinburgh four times daily, Monday to Saturday.
    Visitors will learn about the gardening necessary in the Scottish climate, (we use organic methods), and also using local, materials for building.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with all of the above,so, organic gardening, building (brick ) garden wall, and lean to extension,, planting,harvesting, weeding, (depending on the weather at the time), plus, some (vegan) cooking. One of us is happy to either work with you, or give you instruction as to how to do whatever job is on the go.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French. Spanish,

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accomodation is in a 21 foot caravan, which is comfortable and warm. It has a small double bed, a chemical cassette toilet, and a small shower room, a dining table and comfortable seating. We will provide you with breakfast to serve yourselves in the caravan, and eat lunch together in our home, if you wish.
    Afternoons and evenings are mainly time off for everyone. We can provide an evening meal, which you can enjoy in the privacy of the caravan.

    Food is vegan, though if you wish to bring dairy products for yourselves that is fine.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We ask for volunteers to work the equivalent of four hours a day (with a coffee break in the middle), five days a week.
    In exchange, volunteers will receive food for breakfast in the caravan, lunch together in the house or garden, and food for, or evening meal in the caravan. We prefer to regard afternoons, and evenings as free time for everyone.

    In time off, helpers can use our community bus to go into Edinburgh, any day except Sunday. There is a also a service bus to Linlithgow, where there are shops, cafés, historic buildings including the Palace, walks along the canal or round Linlithgow Loch, and a train station where you can take trains to Edinburgh or Stirling or Glasgow, and beyond. We can usually provide transport from Linlithgow. Nearer to our home, visitors can walk or cycle part of The John Muir Way, or visit Blackness Castle, or walk round the scenic gardens of House of the Binns. There is a good café within walking distance of our house.
    You can borrow our non-trendy bikes.

    We are usually able to offer a visit together to one of the places that interest you near by. This depends on the needs of my elderly mother who sometimes requires more assistance from me.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 891527967427