Come and help our family with medieval farm restoration in Caylus, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 22 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.03.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello!
    We (Tara & Dave) are currently restoring our medieval farm in South West France. We have a new baby (and a new puppy!) so life can be a bit hectic and we could really do with some help! In general this consists of traditional building, maintaining the kitchen garden, keeping nature at bay (weeds/ mowing etc) and helping out with the animals - 2 dogs, chickens and cats.
    The house is set in 5 hectares of pasture and woodland. There are views across the valley and 360˚ sunshine on those sunny days.
    In the summer we will have an above ground pool set up with bbq area.
    We're 6 kms out of town and have bicycles we can loan and are of course happy to give lifts into town.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    When Dave is available the opportunity to learn from a master carpenter and skilled metalworker are extremely useful skills to know. Also if you have green fingers there is a lot of land to help grow and nurture. Building, creating, growing and eating a bountiful kitchen garden is extremely rewarding. Last year was our first year and the vegetables went stratospheric!
    Our space is a friendly family environment, surrounded by amazing landscape and the local town has a social scene. What more could you want from life!

    We also have a forge and so there is the the opportunity to do some blacksmithing workshops/ knife making etc if so inclined.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    All aspects of stone masonry and carpentry, use of power tools, groundwork, fencing and gardening so physical fitness is important.
    Stone Masonry - pointing, re-construction.
    Carpentry - all aspects both structural and decorative
    Ground work - preparing holes for fence posts and pipes
    Gardening - garden maintenance, preparation and maintenance of the vegetable patch.
    Land maintenance - keeping nature under control - mowing grass, cutting back, clearing areas etc
    Site maintenance - clearing barns

    Most of the work at the moment will be land and vegetable garden maintenance and clearing out barns. Dave is currently working during the week so the renovation of the buildings will only be done when he is available. That may be on the weekend but more likely when he takes time off from work. This will happen from time to time but mostly, at the moment the work will consist of helping me (Tara) maintain the property. This will consist of setting up and running the vegetable garden, cutting back and tidying up nature and mowing the grass etc. Also we have a big hanger/open barn that needs clearing out. Lots to do! I am here with the baby so would love help with him so we can do the work together. The two dogs always need a lovely long walk too!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We would like to learn to speak French... of course! If you speak french but don't speak English very well... then please come. We can help each other. It may be difficult at first... but we will make it work!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The house we're living in is a renovation project. Its comfortable and warm in the winter/ cool in the summer but is not finished. There are crumbling walls and plugged holes. We have lived like this for a few years now, so it's perfectly fine but its charm may not be for everyone!

    The rooms are all on one floor quite close to each other, but are all big spaces. We live in two rooms in the winter; the main living/kitchen area with the wood burning stove and our bedroom. Then in the Spring we open up the two other rooms; the guest room and the other we use as storage.

    The guest room is shown in the photos with the mosquito net hanging above. It has a wood stove but from March we would hope to not be burning too much wood . Unfortunately we don't have an endless supply of wood... not yet anyway! So the room may be a little cold... but we will have a heated blanket on the bed. The main living room however stays quite warm.

    The aim in the spring is to create a workaway living space outside with a modern custom caravan and outside kitchen.
    We have not built this space yet though... so will be one of the jobs on the agenda.
    We would like to have 2 guests at a time. They will share the room. The room is large with a standard single and a small double bed so couples are welcome and preferred. We have also said yes to families but you need to be considerate of the space available. Its not that big for a family. We have a travel cot if required.

    The bathroom is high on the list for finishing this year... but meanwhile consists of a bath and a toilet. There is no sink / mirror etc and the floor and walls are not finished. So its a little rough round the edges... but we have a heater in there and the bath is big with very hot water... so a good place to hang for a while.

    The aim is for the guests to eat as part of the family. Breakfast will be a help yourself, lunch will be provided (standard french fare - hot or cold weather depending). Dinner will be cooked by one of the family or the guest (if able and obviously within their hours). All meals will be shared and enjoyed together.

    We love living here... the sunrise views from the kitchen are beautiful and the stars at night are inspiring. We hope you will enjoy it too.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have amazing kayaking, hiking, swimming in the river, mountain biking and rock climbing all within local reach. The Sunday market is one of the top 5 in France and a real social occasion with the bar busy through to late in the day. The local town has a busy bar/gig scene and a lively community who are always organising something fun!
    The area is geographically stunning being positioned at the end of the Gorges of Aveyron. The town is below beautiful limestone cliffs with a river running through. Together with the vibrant social scene, St Antonin-Noble-Val is quite special and unlike anywhere else in France.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have really good internet! Well for rural France anyway... 18mb download and 4.5mb upload. 4G is very good also... but away from the house. The stone house blocks it, but if you have wifi calling your phone will work inside.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have lots of space.... so no problem.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 889476554585