We're looking for help maintaining our 33 acre property in the Dordogne, SW France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 91 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.07.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Bonjour! We are an English couple in our early 30s living with our two dogs, two cats, and three horses. We both work from home and need some help maintaining our property in SW France. We live in a rural area, but are not remote as we are just 2km from a busy market town (Issigeac) and only 20km from Bergerac. We both speak French (Andre is fluent, I am competent) and we would be happy to help you improve your French or English while you stay with us. Please get in touch!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    A brief bit of info about us: We both previously lived in France but only recently moved to this house (July 2016), so we are still finding our feet and taking control of the land again, which was very overgrown when we arrived. The house and garden are our passion, but we do have day jobs running our businesses - Andre is a web developer, and Hannah is a private tutor. Hannah enjoys a lot of sport - horse riding, trail running, yoga, so if you like this too it would be a bonus!.... Andre is more laid back so if you prefer a slower pace of life, that works too!

    If you would like to improve your French or English language, we will happily help you!

    Our local area is packed full of exciting things to do - our local town (Issigeac) has a famous, and huge, Sunday market all year, and in the summer months there are night markets on Thursday and Fridays.

    There are many other bastide (fortified) towns as this part of France was where the Hundred Years War was fought. Around our house, there are loads of quiet lanes and trails for cycling, running, walking. If you have a car you will be able to go further afield - Sarlat, Beynac (castle and canoeing), Bergerac and many other beautiful and bustling towns.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a large property of 33 acres and need help maintaining this.

    Outdoor jobs:
    This is quite physical, so somebody who is used to doing this sort of work would be most suitable. The main outdoor jobs would be mowing and strimming around the garden and orchard, and helping to clear overgrown areas around the river, watering the orchard in the summer, and weeding. Depending on your experience we may require help with fencing or chain-sawing fallen trees. In the summer and autumn we have fruit to pick in the orchard - you are welcome to eat as much as you like!

    Indoor jobs (this is most likely if the weather is too bad for the outdoor jobs):
    In our home there may be some light housework to do (e.g. vacuuming, mopping, general cleaning) as we have two hairy dogs that make mess as fast as we can clear it up!
    We have a one bedroom gite that we rent out, so we may need help with washing and cleaning this between guests.

    Daily routine:
    In the summer - as most of the work will be outside, we would like somebody to spend the morning working (before it gets too hot). You can then have the afternoons and evenings completely to yourself to relax or explore the area.
    In the winter - we're happy to be more flexible on the hours you work, as it depends on the weather.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in a characterful, converted farm house. You would have the top floor of the house, in the converted pigeonnier, which has fantastic views across the countryside. This includes a spacious attic bedroom (with double bed), mezzanine landing (with single bed / sofa) and shower bathroom.

    The accommodation would ideally suit a single person or a couple as there is a double bedroom. However, we can also accommodate two friends as the mezzanine area does have a single bed, but please note that this is also the access to your bathroom. We will provide towels and bed linen, and we expect guests to clean their bedroom and bathroom before they leave us.

    We have a large outdoor pool, which you would be welcome to use. However, if our paying gite guests are using the pool we would prefer you to wait until they have finished.

    We would prefer to host non-smokers please!

    Meals:
    We are happy to provide meals, as follows:
    - breakfast: help yourself, we have a lot of comings and goings in the morning so tend to eat at different times
    - lunch: we'll provide salad, or a cooked dish (e.g. lasagne) if you're eating at home. If you're eating out, just let us know.
    - supper: when possible, we like to sit down and eat together. We like hearty but healthy food!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our closest town is Issigeac (2km) and Bergerac (20km). Bergerac has an airport and train station - we are able to collect and drop you off when you arrive/leave if you need us to. While you are staying with us you will have the use of our bikes.

    If you have your own car, you can visit many other local bastide (fortified) towns including:
    - Eymet (15 mins away)
    - Villeréal (15 mins)
    - Monflanquin (30 mins)
    - Biron (30 mins)
    - Monpazier (30 mins)
    - Sarlat (1 hour)
    All of the above towns have weekly markets, although Sarlat is undoubtedly the most famous - attracting visitors worldwide.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 755613859167