Looking for a pet-friendly Workaway to house sit in Poitou Charentes, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 82 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.02.2020

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Help wanting short term or long term. Most urgently we need to find pet-friendly house sitters from 18 - 25th March. We will also need help from 24th April until 25th May (approx). Most important part of our assignment is taking care of our 2 dogs and 2 cats whilst we are away. Help in the garden and with house maintenance is also appreciated.

    For longer term assignments we offer a self contained 2 bedroom ground floor apartment (self catering).

    We are a retired couple with grown up children. Originally from the UK we have lived in France for five years. Prior to this we were in Spain for more than 10 years.

    We regularly have to travel and we need to find an pet-friendly couple to take care of our animals whilst we are away. Some help with the garden would be also greatly appreciated. We have a lovely old manor house and 2ha gardens and woodland. It takes a lot of maintenance!

    We also want to create an organic vegetable plot and to restore what was once a beautiful garden around the property. We also need to repair the bridge that spans our river and perhaps also build a new one. So we are looking for keen gardeners who know what they're doing.

    Ideally we would like to find a couple who want to try living in France, who are perhaps thinking of relocating permanently but want to test the lifestyle etc first. Our house is rambling and lends itself to creating "Chambres d'hotes" and we're in the process of reorganising things so that we might offer a unique style of B&B. But if we do it we will need some help, particularly with with the gardens and general maintenance of the house. We are flexible and are happy to discuss ideas...

    We can offer a self-catering, independent self-contained ground floor 2-bedroom apartment to volunteers who might want to help us whilst sharing our lovely environment and getting some experience of France. All mains services including internet are connected. The apartment would be rent-free in return for a flexible but regular work commitment.

    Our ideal volunteers will ideally be a couple (or two friends) who enjoy rural surroundings and love animals and wildlife. We often have to travel so want to find people who will reliably and lovingly take care of the animals when we are away. We have a golden retriever and a very timid cat. We live in a rural area with a small village nearby (2kms) where there's a bar and a bakery etc. There's a bigger village 5kms away where you'll find banks, doctors, supermarket, chemist, etc. The main town of Bressuire is about 15 kms away. We do have to travel from time to time but are rarely away for more than one week or so.

    Non-smokers please as I am allergic to cigarette smoke. Looking forward to hearing from you....

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a lovely, rural, friendly community where local people are warm and welcoming. We're happy to help with introductions to the French system if needed and to share information etc.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our priority is finding someone to care for our animals when we need to go away from home for a few days (we're not usually away longer than 7-10 days in any one period). We also need help with gardening, domestic help in the house (cleaning), decorating, small repairs, general maintenance. We also need help to "tame" our garden and to create an eco-vegetable garden. Specific projects or general help appreciated.
    We would welcome individuals, a couple or friends sharing the apartment. The placement could ideally suit a couple who are thinking of moving permanently to France who perhaps want to try out beforehand.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    self contained, renovated and comfortable 2-bedroom apartment on the garden level of the house, own open-plan living room / kitchen, new bathroom (shower), 2 double bedrooms. Overlooking the river.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Must be happy to look after the house and to give 100% care to our animals when we are away. Own transport advisable as public transport is not easy. Bicycles available. We have very helpful neighbours for shared shopping trips etc. Driving license useful.
    Volunteers can enjoy rural pursuits, outdoor activities such as cycling, walking, fishing etc. This is "Real France" where the locals are very friendly, the pace of life is slow, the air is ultra-clean and the main industry is agriculture. We are about 1.5 hours from La Rochelle, 1.2 hours south of Nantes and 1.2 hours west of Poitiers (approx).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours per week per person


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 744616248458