Enjoy the quiet and stress free location whilst helping us with small building projects in Couesmes, in Northern France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 65 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.07.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hosts...Barbara and John. We are both in our mid seventies.
    We have owned our property since 1989. We now spend 1/2 year here. We have much less energy but still need to keep on top of a productive garden and continue renovations.We have catered for vegetarians, celiacs and other needs/preferences. We try to be organic gardeners and self-sufficient with fruit and veg. We keep ducks for eggs.
    Broadband wi-fi is present on site. Bicycles are available because there is no local transport system. We enjoy conversation and reading. Barbara does Tai Chi and hula hooping.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a wonderfully quiet place to chill out and recharge. Healthy and no traffic. Early in the year, the focus is on preparing the garden, clearing and setting up the poly tunnel, planting potatoes, greenhouse plants and early crops. There will also be some tree and hedge cutting, ditching and mowing the field. Later in the year, I harvest and preserve crops. The ducks need daily care, feeding and watering, mucking out, egg collection.
    We were teachers so we enjoy collecting and passing on information on a wide range of subjects. Barbara enjoys cooking and can pass on skills and recipes. John is not very active nowadays, but he is knowledgable about most building skills and can set up and supervise projects.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We aim for self sufficiency without being extreme. We grow, harvest and try to conserve any excess by drying and bottling.
    The crops include asparagus, beans, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, lettuce, potatoes, tomatoes, spinach, kiwi,cherries,peaches,apples, pears, apricots,plums, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, red and blackcurrants, seedless grapes, figs and physalis. Assorted trees for log burner. This means : weeding, hoeing, pruning, harvesting, mowing, log splitting, hedge trimming, etc

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A small self contained, one bedroom stone cottage with its own private garden, patio and parking space. You can self cater here if required. There is a TV.

    Depending on the time of year, accommodation may be in a different building,not self contained, but with two bedrooms and a bathroom. There is a VHS player and lots of tapes available.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Two bars within walking distance, one French, one English, which also serves meals (was good, but changed hands in Feb.2020 so we wait and see). They used to have music and open mic nights, that may continue.
    There are two bikes and plenty of very quiet roads. There is a French registered car which may be available. You need to be aged over 25 and have an international driving permit.
    There are interesting places to visit if you have transport...Roman fort and settlement, chateaux, churches,
    caves, art installations, markets.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours each week

Our flower garden
Front of your accommodation
The kitchen/diner of your accommodation
Courtyard and main buildings
Kitchen/diner showing door to bathroom
Upstairs of accommodation from stairs



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 727299983769