Come and stay at my hobby orchard in the countryside near Hornslet, Denmark

Country

Dänemark

Bisher 45 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.07.2021

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small orchard about 30 kilometres north of Aarhus, near the town of Hornslet. It's a 15 hectare area with 1200 fruit trees (apple and pear), about 20 cattle in the summertime, and a natural forest. I live here with my daughter, and run the orchard as a hobby. Soon there will be chickens, and three new bee hives. I am an immigrant to Denmark from the USA, and am 35 years old.

    I once was reasonably conversational in Spanish, but I have forgotten most of it through lack of use. If you're a native spanish speaker we might be able to drag it back out from the depths of my brain!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The orchard is a typical Danish sort. Visitors to the area can expect a quiet area with a friendly host. It is fairly solitary out here, with lots of options for walks through the forest. You can learn about any aspect of this lifestyle that interests you--orchard operations, cattle, chickens, vegetable growing. I take pride in mending things here instead of going to the store. This means I spend a lot of time fabricating parts instead of buying them (when possible). You should consider this a bit of a getaway from a bustling city life. The mix of culture here is interesting--I am an immigrant to Denmark myself, from USA, and it shows. So on any given day, you might experience Danish music and food, or find me outside on a nice day playing my banjo. We can practise the Danish language together, but I am not a native speaker so it would be best to not rely on me to teach you. I have friends living close by and can imagine we can have a small party or dinner.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are MANY projects on which we can work together; I've just put some examples here. I'm currently building a new chicken area, and could use help building the enclosure, so carpentry skills (basic) are welcome. I could use help setting up a new woodworking shop and tidying up the barns. If you like working on cars or machines I have plenty of work on a car and a tractor that could be done. I can use help planting and tasks in the garden (depending on the time of year, much of our food can come from there, organic of course). I could use help collecting and chopping firewood. Inside the house, I could use help painting. I could also use help running some coax cables, hanging lights, building shelves. I have 1000s of projects that could use a hand. We can of course select projects via correspondence before you decide to come here, or you can just show up and see what we can do together. I am very project-oriented. I really don't care how many hours you help or don't help. I would suggest we pick a few and try to get them done. If not, no problem! This is zero stress. There's no real minimum stay. If you want to come by for a few days, that's fine!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Danish: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Visitors would have their own bedroom, in a private area upstairs (with a lovely view of the orchard). We have good WiFi on a fibre connection. You would have your own toilet and sink, but we would be sharing a shower (only one in the house, unfortunately). Of course I would provide all food, towels, necessities like soap and shampoo. We can either cook and eat together, or I can purchase whatever food you require if you prefer to prepare and eat your own. I tend to prepare a large breakfast in the morning--it's not to be missed. (I eat meat, but am happy to eat vegetarian for a while. I was vegetarian for a few years so no problem.)

    Do note that I have my daughter living with me about half the time. She is about 2.5 years old and is a great kiddo, always wanting to help. When she's here, we should be REASONABLY quiet in the evening. Music and conversation is just fine of course; she is used to me leaving music on until late. Also note that I do not have a TV or a microwave, nor a Netflix or any other streaming account. You are welcome to unlimited wifi, but should bring your own phone/computer/device.

    I don't smoke but am not bothered if you do. I have an area outside with chairs and ashtrays for my friends that do smoke. We have no indoor pets, but there are feral cats that live in the barn and on the property are chickens, bees, cows, deer, and just about every type of bird that Denmark has to offer. I am quite excited about some ravens that have taken up residence in the forest.

    I am looking for someone to stay a maximum of two weeks.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Direct public transport in the area is limited, but does exist. There is a commuter bus that operates on weekdays that can get you into Aarhus or Randers, with a stop right at the end of my driveway (about 300 metres from the door). I can also take you into town with the car once or twice. If you have your own vehicle, that is easiest. Hornslet is about 4 or 5 km away, and you would be welcome to borrow a bicycle if you wish. It's a lovely town with a bakery, library, a pub, and several grocers. From Hornslet, transport into town is quick and easy on Letbanen. In Aarhus, there is everything you could need from a city (Denmark's second largest), including pubs, museums, parks, theatres, etc. Randers has an amazing zoo, Randers Regnskov (rainforest), and is actually fairly underrated as a city to visit.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    No real expectations, we can discuss. No more than 4 hours/day, 5 days/week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 632618636334