Join a vibrant community and help develop land with permaculture principles in beautiful West Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 52 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a married couple who live in a rural home in beautiful West Wales with some land that we are slowly developing in line with Permaculture principles. This spring we are creating a new building for guest stays. We have a vegetable garden, orchard, forest garden and woodland. We're always seeking to grow more, plant more and compost more!!! So we need lots of help setting up wormeries, making compost toilets, collecting seed, harvesting and making produce. We often have a small construction project on the go, gardening projects,woodland work and would also like some help with maintenance too. Cooking and eating are a key part of our day and so help in the kitchen is highly valued. We're part of a vibrant local community with lots going on; arts, dancing, theatre, music, ecological projects. There are lots of great walks, swimming, canoeing and surfing. We have a double room in the house and some weeks there may be space in our wooden cabin. We welcome couples and singles. We have 3 cats.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you're interested in learning about living with plants and developing your plant knowledge this may be of interest to you. If you are interested in rural life and country living. Woodland work or work with soil. John and I are happy to share our artistic interests. John loves music and enjoys listening to music with people and sharing his knowledge of music culture. I practice astrology and paint as a way of furthering my interest in the Earth in the cosmos. We are also experienced hosts, love travelling and meeting people from other cultures. We live in Wales which is a country with an ancient and rich cultural heritage; Neolithic culture, Celtic Saints and pilgrimage routes, myths and legends, Welsh language and song. The coastline is rugged and Cardigan Bay is noted for it's dolphins, porpoises and seals. As we both work as artists we do both require part of the day alone in our studios and workshop, unless we are all needed on the job. I am an experienced teacher [environmental education and permaculture]and happy to communicate and work with you for up to one to two hours a day. If you are at all unsure about this please check with us. If you have a specific skill we are interested to hear about it.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with;
    Building Caban Coch - the Red Shack.
    Making some simple hurdles and fences.
    Caring for the garden: mulching, weeding, manuring, harvesting, collecting seed, etc
    Developing new garden areas; building up a new plant nursery from cuttings and propagation, seed saving,mulching, digging, perennial flowers and herbs
    Orchard work: pruning, manuring, harvesting
    Hedge laying in the winter
    Working our woodland: harvesting ash and replanting with hazel and mixed broad leaves, making paths, hand rails, a platform
    Pond work: clearing, decking
    Making new wormeries from two steel baths
    Making ferments to improve soil bacteria
    Making a compost toilet
    Daily soup and stew making. Cooking.
    Processing produce
    Tidying and washing up in the kitchen.
    We'll provide safety equipment and tools but we suggest you bring a pair of sturdy boots and wet weather coat and trousers. If you don't have any then let us know what size you are and we'll get some.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Welsh: Grundkenntnisse
    German: Grundkenntnisse
    French: Grundkenntnisse
    Russian: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a double room available in the house. Shared bathroom and kitchen facilities.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live about a mile away from the nearest bus stop, we both cycle and drive and are happy to give you lifts or the loan of a bicycle. It's a great place to explore the outdoors, Welsh towns, Welsh culture and live music. St David's cathedral is about an hour away and Aberystwyth an hour north is a thriving university town with the National Library of Wales and Arts Centre . Cardigan is our nearest country town, just 3 and a half miles away, with a good arts and entertainment scene, great cafe's and places of historical interest. There are some interesting eco projects in West Wales too. We are close to the ferry port of Fishguard if you want to take a trip to Ireland.
    We expect that you will entertain yourself in the afternoon and evenings unless we invite you over for music, food and drinks. Or we might invite you to take a walk or come to an event. If you need a space for yoga or some other practice let us know and we can oblige.
    There is 4G . There is wifi in the house. You'd have to download stuff in the day though to be sure you can watch it as there are sometimes problems streaming. Again please communicate with us about your needs and expectations regarding what you need and we'll do what we can to help.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 -5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 596127865682