Learn and help out at our horse lovers' paradise Stouffville, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 161 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    89.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a boarding/teaching/training equestrian centre on 12 Hectares (30 acres) with 20+ horses, northeast of Toronto, conveniently located on the Go Train Route. The owner is a certified competition coach, mentor and learning facilitator and also teaches online Management of the Equine Environment online for the University of Guelph. There is also a farm tourism element and it hosts equine rider retreats offering slow food cuisine and cooking courses.

    The owner's husband has an extensive wood working studio, also located on the property.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You would be mostly working with the horses under the guidance of the owner who is a certified equestrian coach.
    Apart from having the farm experience, part of what is offered to Workawayers is to have lessons with the coach. If you are a rider, you will come away from your stay at the farm, a better rider! If you want to learn to ride (or drive a horse), this is a great place to start.
    If you dream of one day owning your own horse or equestrian centre the owner teaches Management of the Equine Environment for the University of Guelph so horse husbandry is her area of expertise! You'll see what goes on behind the scenes to make a farm healthy for its inhabitants and profitable for its students and horse owners. You will also learn a lot about horse first aid and care. This is a great opportunity to be mentored both on and off the horse!

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

    Der Gastgeber gibt an, dass er den gesetzlichen Stundenlohn seines Landes für jede gearbeitete Stunde zahlt und zudem die Unterkunft zur Verfügung stellt. Er sucht Mithilfe an seinem Unternehmen bzw. bei seiner Geschäftstätigkeit. Nutze bitte die Messaging-Funktion der Website, um mehr Informationen und Details zum gezahlten Lohn zu erhalten. Du solltest alle Absprachen im Vorfeld direkt mit deinem Gastgeber treffen.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Starting at 07:30, the daily routine consists of feeding and turning out the horses from the barn, cleaning the stable, help train/exercise horses (if qualified), assist student grooming and tacking up their horses for lessons, maintain an orderly tack room and help tend to the large grounds and gardens (seasonal). Evening close up of the barns is done at nightfall and water must be topped up for the horses that are stabled and hay offered.
    Limited data entry (average 10-15 min/day) may be required so a working knowledge of computers, Microsoft Excel and social media is an asset. .
    While there is minimal lifting involved, Workawayers must be in reasonable physical condition and not allergic to animals and dust.
    It is also expected that as about 30 clients will come on the farm premises for rides and lessons, excellent people and organizational skills are important. Helping the owner keep track of teaching, vet and farrier schedules is also necessary as is staying up to date with feed and horse care changes and charges.
    During the summer there is some tending of the vegetable and herb garden and small orchard (next to the swimming pool).
    There are also cats and a dog in the barn and farm house (upstairs, not in apartment), so this is a place for animal lovers in general.
    The Farm is a smoke-free property and no illegal drugs are permitted.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Hebrew: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Typically we have 2 people staying at the farm, each with a private bedroom. They share a large, sunny self-contained walkout apartment that overlooks a pond that is spring fed and stocked with fish. The apartment has its own kitchen and full bathroom that is shared. The responsibility for maintaining a clean environment is that of the individuals staying in the apartment.
    Typically the Workawayers prepare and eat their own breakfast, lunches and all groceries are supplied by the farm owner. Dinner is eaten with your hosts most evenings and prepared by the owner (who teaches cooking) in the main house dining area.
    There are also laundry facilities available.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The farm is located about 6 km from the nearest town. On your days off you can usually arrange in advance to get a ride into town to the train/bus station.
    From there you are about one hour's train ride to downtown Toronto and all its attractions.
    You are about 2 hours from there to Niagara Falls, 3 hours to Algonquin Park.
    If you enjoy hiking, there are miles of marked hiking trails in the farm area.
    Watching the stars at night and listening to the sounds of nature including the howling of the coyotes is something worth doing on a regular basis. In the winter you can hear the snow falling!
    We have a swimming pool on the property that is available (in the summer) for you to use as long as you can demonstrate that you can swim.
    We have limited internet access that is suitable for emails/texting/talking on your cell, and minor checking of places to see, but not for downloading and some apps.
    Due to the limited bandwidth available to us, streaming of music and movies is not permitted but that can be done for free in the library in town or stores/restaruants where WiFi is free--just a 5-minute drive away or an under hour hike.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Starting at 0730 about 5-6 hourts total/day

Whiz - our rescued pug
The Isolation bar for new horses


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 579112552858