Help a Couple of Healers and Artists Start Up Their Organic Homestead in Vermont's Beautiful Upper Valley!

Country

USA

Bisher 56 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.09.2019

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Elena and Tony (and puppy Willow) are living on 67 acres of sugar maples, sloping meadows, apple orchards, and wooded hills in Vermont’s Upper Valley. The property hosts an 1890’s farmhouse, converted barn, spring fed swimming pond, and many acres of hiking trails perfect for time alone in nature. The property was farmed from the late 1800’s until the 1960’s when Elena's grandparents moved in and began to reforest it.

    Our dream is to cultivate the land again in a ecologically sustainable and nature guided way and one day be able to offer nourishment, healing, and creative inspiration to our community as well as to artists and healers who visit us from far and wide.

    This year we have a most urgent need help throughout the growing season from April to October as we are hoping to plant a new vegetable garden to feed the homestead, create a spring fed, gravity powered irrigation system, grow culinary mushrooms, and found a food forest on our upper meadow. We also have construction and maintenance projects on the property like building a compost toilet and outdoor shower.

    We would love to host farmers / gardeners and builders who have experience starting new gardens and who are excited to bring vision and imagination to our land. Workawayers who share our interest in ecological methodology, and have a capacity for independence, ample quiet time alone with the elements, and creativity in your work. We also hope you enjoy shared meals, celebratory feasts, and opportunities to partake in sound meditations, and other group activities.

    Our home would be appropriate for individuals, couples, and small families, and pets are welcome as long as they are able to get along with our rambunctious puppy. We are interested in hosting both short and long term workawayers, on a case by case basis.

    In exchange for 20-25 hours of work per week gardens and/or building and maintenance projects we offer accommodations in our 1890’s farmhouse, with a private bathroom and kitchenette shared only by our workawayers. We will provide food for all three meals a day, with breakfast and lunch prepared and eaten independently and most dinners being prepared by us and eaten together (as schedule permits). When we cook we like to make delicious healthy meals with as many local ingredients as possible. We eat locally raised meat but can also accommodate vegetarian or vegan guests if you don't mind there being meat in the house.

    We look forward to working, living, and exchanging with you!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Tony and Elena are new to land stewarding, we are both artists and healers. We have lived and traveled across the US and in Latin America, and speak fluent Spanish and Portuguese. Tony plays music and offers sound meditation, Elena is a writer and filmmaker as well as an astrologer and tarot reader, passionate cook and medicine maker. We are happy to share our crafts with you and learn from your skills and talents as well. We are particularly seeking workawayers with experience or interest in permaculture, biodynamic farming, and ecological building.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help planting and tending a new Veggie Garden this year.
    We need help building a gravity fueled, spring fed irrigation system from our pond.
    We have a number of home improvement projects and small building projects like a compost toilet and outdoor shower that we are learning to do ourselves and would love some help.
    We need help cutting and stocking firewood and clearing downed trees in our woods.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Spanish, Portuguese, a little Russian

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two cozy bedrooms available in our farm house with real beds. Guests will have access to their own dedicated bathroom and kitchenette.

    Our home also features plenty of common space with a fireplace and wood burning stove, a music room and big kitchen / dining area for shared meals.

    Our water is fed from a drilled well and excellent quality. On our property you can enjoy plenty of privacy, beautiful hikes in the woods, and dips in the pond.

    We will offer all the food needed for 3 meals a day and a separate kitchen for workaway guests to prepare their own breakfast and lunches in. We will prepare and share most dinners as collective meals with the exception of some nights when we can't be home to cook and they will have to prepare their own meal with the food provided.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    During time off we recommend exploring the hiking trails around us and sun bathing and swimming in our pond. Tubing down the white river is available just minutes away and we are a 3 minute drive (20 min walk) from a great food coop, new coffeeshop, and some nice bars and restaurants.
    For movie nights and more restaurant options we are a 25 minute drive from three theaters including an outdoor classic drive in. Our area offers weekly outdoor festivals and concerts, yoga classes and plenty of beautiful farms to visit. Vermont has fantastic waterfalls, hiking and camping as well as many incredible farm to table dining experiences and breweries to tour.
    We are located about 30 minutes from Hanover NH and the Dartmouth Campus, 25 mins from Woodstock VT, 45 mins from Montpelier, and 1.15 from Burlington by car. If you wish to visit Boston or Montreal (each about 2.5 hours away) on a weekend we can take you to local train or bus stations in White River Junction, VT or Lebanon, NH.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 578829466123